26 Letters- Christmas Edition

25 Dec

Ahoy! That’s what Alexander Graham Bell said when he answered the telephone. And while we’re talking history, I’ve done three posts like this one before (1st, 2nd, 3rd) where I use each letter of the alphabet to come up with words to build a blog post around. Considering what today is obviously the following will have a festive theme going on.

The first of my Christmas get togethers was Krista’s visit, though I like to call her Bingaling. For the past 6 or 7 years I have given her a novelty edition of Monopoly, this year’s being The Big Bang Theory one. Tokens include Raj’s dog Cinnamon, Penny’s wine glass and Amy’s tiara, hehe. Krista’s not the only happy camper as I now own these awesome gnomes (as well as one that’s not pictured since he’s outside):

DSCF7663

One thing the boys and I do every year is watch a handful of Christmas movies like A Charlie Brown Christmas and The Polar Express. This year I introduced Logan to The Nightmare Before Christmas and The Grinch Who Stole Christmas (the classic version) and he liked them enough that they may join our repertoire.

Kevin, my father-in-law, had a nasty case of the flu that landed him in the hospital a couple weeks ago, so when Logan started saying he didn’t feel well either we didn’t take it lightly. We came close to taking him to the doctor’s, but I’m happy to report that whatever bug he caught didn’t escalate to that point. He got plenty of R&R that weekend and by Monday he was himself again, thank goodness.

Last year I wanted to try something where interested pen pals would give me enough of something to give to the other interested parties so each of them would get a little something from everyone (you can read more about it here). I decided to try the exchange again this year but made some changes. For example, instead of asking who’d be up for it, I invited the four people I knew would have fun with it and I think it was more successful. Enclosed were handmade soaps and bath salts, as well as the other stuff below:

DSCF7648

Logan asked for quite a bit for Christmas this year. Of course he wanted trucks and tractors and he’ll be opening some games today and this weekend, but the request that threw us for a loop was a foosball table. No, we didn’t get a full-size one, but as of this morning he does have a table-top version.

As for that Gabe fellow, the main thing I wanted to get him was a new phone, and though he has it now I still wanted him to have something to open. I wound up getting him things like a couple CDs and a calendar. I would have liked to get him The Book of Life too, but that won’t be on blu-ray for a while yet.

Ever since the boys and I watched The Polar Express, hot chocolate in hand, this song has been stuck in my head:

I am no stranger to indoor Christmas lights, but as of this year I have now become acquainted with outdoor ones as well. Gabe has talked about putting them up for as long as we’ve been married so I’m glad he/we got the chance. It’s far from the elaborate scene his late grandfather used to do, but it’s perfect for our humble abode.

This is probably a bit sacrilegious, but check out my awesome nativity! I love that the baby Jesus is resting on a mushroom, hehe.

DSCF7664

My grandma was nice enough to take me shopping for new boots earlier this month. We hit up a few thrift stores first but we  were ultimately successful at Kohls. My grandma would have preferred I picked the more stylish pair she found, but this accident prone girl will choose comfort and practicality over style any day, winter or otherwise.

Had I provided an address in the League of Extraordinary Pen Pals’ database, I can only imagine how many Christmas cards I would have wound up getting, but 20 is still an impressive number.

Earlier I showed you a picture of the loot from the exchange, but I wanted to highlight my main contribution a bit more. One day when Gabe and I were at a toy store, we noticed this big display of Mad-Libs and I had this lightbulb moment– I could get my pen friends each one of these, and they could each get one that is up their alley! Allison, for example, is a pirate in her own right, and I could see Emily and her family having fun with the on the road one whenever they’re on the road. I hope my friends have as much fun with these as I did picking them out!

retired

 

With the end of the year approaching, I thought I would give you an update on the note card thing I’ve been doing for the majority of my letters for the past few months. You see, I have a bunch of partially used notebooks and I decided that I wanted to start using their pages for letters along with note cards– the cards so I can dress the process up a bit. I am only 20 pages or so from finishing up my third notebook. I asked my pen pals if they would like me to go back to using nicer paper, but the consensus is that they don’t care what I write them on as long as I write them. As of today I have a LOT more note cards and I’m so excited to start putting them to use!

When Logan’s first Christmas was approaching, I knew right then and there I wanted to get him an ornament and I wanted to continue doing so every year. That year it was his picture with Santa, the following it was a dalmation in a firefighter boot, and last year it was Elmo. He now has a French fry ornament, haha! We also got Christian, our nephew, a firetruck ornament– the first of many for him as well.

While I had things I wanted to get for the Loganator, there was one thing I wanted for myself… a P.O. Box! I once posted something that listed off 10 reasons I wanted a P.O. Box and it’s as true as ever; I think I even have more reasons now. For those of you who want to write me/ hook me up with Alice in Wonderland– friendly postcards/ WHATEVER, you now can! 😀

address

A pen pal recently told me about how her family went to Disneyland for Thanksgiving, and as she listed what they’d be doing for Christmas, I couldn’t help but think how especially quaint our holidays are– not that there’s anything wrong with that! We saw Gabe’s aunts yesterday afternoon, we’ll see his parents today for food and even more presents, and on Saturday we’ll see a chunk of my family.

I haven’t really made any resolutions for 2015. As always it’d be nice to save money and I may even try to lose weight, but to say I WILL do these things would be making promises I don’t necessarily intend to keep. Basically all I’m hoping to accomplish this year are things pertaining to school for me &/or the Loganator.

In addition to the exchange I also organized Secret Santa yet again for me and my interested pen pals. I’m hoping everyone likes their goodies as much as Emily, my recipient, liked hers. Kära, my not-so-secret Secret Santa was really nice to me. In addition to sending me something in response to each thing on my wishlist, she also sent me a few odds and ends like “Patchpops”– very intriguing! Thank you, Kära!

DSCF7667

Dang nabbit– I forgot the magnet!

P to the S: This is my TWO-HUNDREDTH BLOG POST! *Throws confetti.*

My aunt-in-law is friends with the daughter of my mail carrier, so I used that connection to get a hold of Nancy’s address. It just seemed like I should send something via USPS to the person who makes sure I get all of my glorious mail. Nancy sent me this postcard in return, hehe:

DSCF7672

Back to the two-hundredth blog post thing for a moment… In the 2+ years I’ve been blogging I’ve gotten 10,466 views! My best ever day was 141 views which may not be a lot for some of you blog stars, but considering pen palling’s not exactly a hot topic, I’ll take it!

As much as I dislike the snow and ice, the thing I dislike the most about winter is the hiatus most TV shows will go on. Once Upon a Time, for example, isn’t coming back until my birthday (March 1st). At least the writers have a knack for leaving us wanting more. Out of all the shows returning next year I’m the most anxious for How to Get Away With Murder, but Revenge is a very close second considering who (and how) they killed someone off. Thank goodness I only have to wait until January for their returns.

I don’t think anyone still refers to Christina Aguilera as Xtina, but I will for the sake of using that tricky letter. This is a Christmas song of hers I like hearing this time of year:

The town I grew up in has a Yule Light Night and this year I wish I would have gone. It’s not as though I missed out on anything exciting, but back when I lived there it was one of my favorite nights of the year as all the shops offered food and beverages after a tree lighting ceremony. I think Logan is now at an age where he would think it’s as cool as I used to, and I’m sure he wouldn’t mind things like cookies and popcorn either.

In my last post I told you how I ordered a monster from a fellow LEP member, but what I didn’t tell you is that Meredith is so awesome she told me to pick out another one of her creations for free as she was trying to find homes for the older monsters. I picked out a zombie named Finnster with my pen friend Kyleigh in mind, and she told me he couldn’t have come at a better time which made me so incredibly happy. Us pen pal people call it “Happy Mail” for a reason!

Well, I have kept you from your day, festive or otherwise, long enough so take care and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

 

 

4 Responses to “26 Letters- Christmas Edition”

  1. nerdinthebrain 12/25/2014 at 9:19 pm #

    I’m playing with (I mean very seriously writing with) my scented pen right now. It’s so fruity! 😀 Perfect for filling in responses for Mad-Libs!

    I hope you and your fellas had an absolutely wonderful Christmas! ❤

    • Sincerely Kate 12/26/2014 at 11:50 am #

      Our Christmas was definitely a happy one, thanks! Glad to hear some of your goodies are already being put to use 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So Long, Farewell | Sincerely Kate - 12/29/2014

    […] presents at this point. Favorite gifts of his include Hungry Hungry Hippos and the foosball table I mentioned before– he’s currently playing on the latter. I am SO EXCITED to go to the post office today […]

  2. 26 Letters- Back to School Edition | Sincerely Kate - 09/20/2015

    […] Hola! The Loganator has just finished his first week of school so I thought this would be a good time to share some of our ABCs with you. How do posts like this work? I take each letter of the alphabet and come up with a word that not only starts with them, but fits my theme. My previous posts include the Original Edition, the Birthday Edition, the 100th Blog Post Edition, and the Christmas Edition. […]

Leave a Reply

