10 Reasons I Want a P.O. Box

10 Mar

My birthday may have been a little over a week ago, but there’s still a gift I would like… a P.O. Box. I have been debating about getting one for a while now, and since it’s the 10th I will share 10 of my reasons for wanting one in addition to the the mailbox I already have.

1. Considering how I’ve had this pen pal-friendly blog for a year and a half now, it’d be nice to enclose an address for potential pen pals to write to without letting the world wide web know where we live.

2. In addition to letters, I’d also love to receive fan mail. Fans of SK could make artwork for the page or simply just drop me a line.

3. Although it still counts as fan mail, the thought of people sending “Dear Kate” letters that I could respond to online is an especially fun thought.

4. Once upon a time I posted a blog called “Postcards from Wonderland” (along with this follow up) and though those postcards were mostly sent by Postcrossers, I’d welcome postcards from that franchise from anyone and everyone should they stumble upon them.

5. I have been considering sending letters to inmates, but the only way I’d be comfortable doing that is if they don’t know where we live. As I get to know them I may change my mind, but I need to be confident my family will be safe.

6. In January a snow plow knocked our mailbox over and the four days it wasn’t up were four of the longest days of my life! Our box was already hit once before so of course I’m worried it may happen again. In the event that it does, I’d like to have a P.O. Box available that I can forward our mail to so I don’t have to go days without any letters or postcards.

7. Our town is pretty small and our street’s without a sidewalk so without anywhere to really go to I rarely go for walks. Our post office is a bit too far away for me to want to walk there regularly, but on the days where Logan’s at his grandparents’ and the weather’s not too cold &/or too rainy, it’d be the perfect excuse for me to get some fresh air and exercise.

8. You know how smokers will have a cigarette when they need a moment to calm themselves, or how some people will grab a beer or a glass of wine when they want to relax? Getting the mail is my equivalent. I get to step away from my responsibilities for a moment and when I come back I feel recharged. I wouldn’t say I need two of these moments a day, but on days where I didn’t get anything or if Logan’s in a bit of a mood, it’d be great to have a back up fix.

9. Around this time last month I became a member of The League of Extraordinary Pen Pals. Most of the members have their address included in the database, but I just can’t bring myself to add ours. I wouldn’t say I don’t trust the other members, but considering there’s almost 200 I’d like to take some sort of precaution. Plenty of people in the group send random mail for kicks and giggles and I’d love to be on the receiving end, but when it comes to where me and the boys live, I’m more comfortable with stuff that’s a bit more predictable.

10. This last one kind of combines a couple yet is a reason all its own. I think the world of our mail carrier, but she doesn’t close the mailbox tightly after delivering our mail. When I’m not able to get it right away I sometimes find that the letters have gotten wet or that snow has seeped inside. Now that I’m in the LEP, I notice that everyone I’ve corresponded with so far has made their own envelopes and I’m worried that the elements could potentially do some damage to the contents inside of them. With a P.O. Box that’d never be an issue.

There you have it, my 10 reasons. I asked my pen pal Ruth to make a little comic on my behalf (a Kate version of this one) and I’d be lying if I said this wasn’t a bit of an 11th one– I’d love to dig my way out of such a mail pile, hehe.

Gabe thinks it would be silly to spend $30 on such a thing each year when we already have a mailbox, and Amber of the LEP said P.O. Boxes may actually cost more for people who already have door service so this will likely be a thought I continue to play around with that may never come to fruition. Feedback is more than welcome, even if it is to just tell me I’m a bit of a nut.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

27 Responses to “10 Reasons I Want a P.O. Box”

  1. nerdinthebrain 03/10/2014 at 3:57 pm #

    I think it’s a good idea…if it makes you feel safer and better able to enjoy hobbies that bring you such happiness, I think it’s worth it. If your husband is (understandably) worried about the expense, maybe you could have a yard sale or something once a year to pay for the box? That way it wouldn’t be coming out of the regular budget. Or you could hire yourself out as a professional letter writer! 😀

    • Sincerely Kate 03/10/2014 at 4:18 pm #

      Is there really such a thing as a professional letter writer? That would be quite the win/ win scenario!

      • nerdinthebrain 03/10/2014 at 4:26 pm #

        I believe they do really exist. At least, they used to. 🙂 Yep…I just did a search and such a thing still exists. It looks like it’s mostly cover letters and sales and things though.

      • Sincerely Kate 03/10/2014 at 5:16 pm #

        Still worth looking into. I wanted to go into advertising once upon a time so I don’t think it would be a completely bad fit 🙂

  2. thirteen1999 03/10/2014 at 4:56 pm #

    Getting a PO box sounds like a great idea, I’ve been thinking of getting one too once I’ve managed to make Snailmail Is Still In Fashion much more popular. I have the same issue with my mail carrier, but mostly, she just likes to be grumpy. Otherwise, happy belated birthday!

    • Sincerely Kate 03/10/2014 at 5:15 pm #

      I’m glad I’m not alone in the P.O. Box department!

      • thirteen1999 03/10/2014 at 5:16 pm #

        Of course not! How expensive is it to rent one, however?

      • Sincerely Kate 03/10/2014 at 5:18 pm #

        That’s something I need to look into. My husband said he thinks it’s $30 a year, but I heard it could be more if you already have a regular box. I’m mailing a birthday gift out later this week so I’m planning to ask then. I’ll work on convincing Gabe in the meantime 😉

      • thirteen1999 03/10/2014 at 5:28 pm #

        Oh, okay. $30 sounds fair enough for a year, but more higher might be pushing it (though it’s understandable, since you’re paying for a itty bitty storage unit in essence). Best of luck and please let me know what the final verdict is! 🙂

      • Sincerely Kate 03/10/2014 at 7:28 pm #

        I’m sure if/when I get one it’ll be blog worthy, hehe.

      • thirteen1999 03/10/2014 at 10:24 pm #

        Thanks:)

  3. Tony Single 03/10/2014 at 5:35 pm #

    We have a PO box, and while it is an added yearly expense, it’s been a boon to us in keeping our privacy as well as allowing us to actually receive our mail (especially packages and whatnot). You see, we kept not getting our mail from time to time because the postie would either not deliver them properly, or someone (we don’t know who) would rummage through it. Not good. Perhaps if you keep at Gabe about it from the privacy angle, he might relent?

    Loving your blog by the way. 😀

    • Sincerely Kate 03/10/2014 at 7:33 pm #

      First of all, I’m so glad you’re loving SK! Second of all, I’m glad you can see my side of things! When I talked to Gabe before he looked at me like I’m crazy, and though that may be the case, in the grand scheme of things I don’t think it’d be a horrible investment. Fortunately I have never gone through someone rummaging through our mail, but if they did a P.O. Box would no longer be up for discussion– I’d be getting one for sure!

  4. randee 03/10/2014 at 6:00 pm #

    You’re funny. Meanwhile, I’ll go days without picking up the mail. I always get the newspaper though.

    • Sincerely Kate 03/10/2014 at 7:34 pm #

      You sound like my oldest brother. Unless it’s his birthday or a holiday he’ll only check his mail once a week or so. I have to tell him when I send him something so I know he’ll look!

  5. cupitonians 03/12/2014 at 2:41 am #

    All very valid reasons. You should totally get one! I’m sure you’ve already started day dreaming about what it would look like.

    • Sincerely Kate 03/12/2014 at 7:26 am #

      Haha. Unfortunately the styles are all pretty much the same around here. I did discover there are a few sizes available though!

      • cupitonians 03/12/2014 at 8:19 am #

        Then you can customize it? paint on it as you will?

      • Sincerely Kate 03/12/2014 at 8:34 am #

        Unfortunately no. That’d be awesome if you could decorate them like lockers at school.

      • cupitonians 03/13/2014 at 1:05 am #

        It would be!

      • Sincerely Kate 03/13/2014 at 7:22 am #

        I think I may put a magnet in it just to see what happens, haha,

      • cupitonians 03/13/2014 at 11:46 pm #

        hahaha! That would be interesting!

      • Sincerely Kate 03/14/2014 at 6:37 am #

        If/when I get a P.O. Box I shall do it and do a blog post on its behalf!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Q and A with SK | Sincerely Kate - 10/10/2014

    […] this blog is any indication, I enjoy this subject very much. Gabe is coming around to the idea of getting a P.O. Box in addition to the mailbox we already have, and if/when that happens, I will definitely welcome you […]

  2. A Post About Post | Sincerely Kate - 10/20/2014

    […] AHH! I’m going to love having two different mailboxes, for a lot of the reasons I mentioned here. The first thing I’m going to do is put the box address up in the League of Extraordinary Pen […]

  3. 26 Letters- Christmas Edition | Sincerely Kate - 12/25/2014

    […] the Loganator, there was one thing I wanted for myself… a P.O. Box! I once posted something that listed off 10 reasons I wanted a P.O. Box and it’s as true as ever; I think I even have more reasons […]

  4. The Year of the Sheep | Sincerely Kate - 01/05/2015

    […] can be a scary place so this box has not only given me an opportunity to do the things I’ve mentioned here, but it has given me piece of […]

Leave a Reply

