Home for the Holidays

25 Dec
Our Christmas Tree and Cards as of 12/21

Our Christmas Tree and Christmas Cards as of 12/21. Also pictured: Some toys from Logan’s own Island of Misfit Toys.

Seasons Greetings, Bleaders! It’s Christmas morning and the boys and I are about to open presents, but I wanted to give you all a little something, too!

Don’t get too excited 😉

My first gift is the gift of knowledge. Likely useless knowledge unless you happen to be one of my pen pals participating in the Christmas Exchange I organized, but knowledge nonetheless. Earlier this year a handful of my pen pals showed interest in me arranging it so each of them would A) send me enough of their own contribution to give to each participant so B) they’d get a little something from everyone, too.

The good news is, with the exception of Allison’s (per her request), I got all the packages shipped out; the bad news is that my best laid plans still went astray… The first craptacular incident happened when I had a falling out with one of the participators, but fortunately she already sent me her contribution. The second incident was another contribution taking its time getting here– thankfully the others were all patient as well as supportive. We’re still waiting on the latter’s gift, but hopefully it will get here soon and the participants will get their (first) packages soon, too! Because my pen pals have yet to get anything, I’m not going to post any pictures in here or say who was responsible for what. I will, however, tell you that 3 people got us pen pal-friendly odds and ends, 2 people went the homemade route, and 1 person hooked us up with some candy made in her state 😉

My second gift is the gift of music. There are a handful of bloggers here on WordPress that indulge in Music Themes. Every 4-5 days one of them will announce the theme and the other themists will find their niche within that theme and then find videos, artwork, or other things that coincide with it. Normally I help my mother with such endeavors, but considering the newest theme is “Home for the Holidays” and today is not only a holiday but the 25th, I thought I’d share the songs you might hear around my home today…

Phineas and Ferb “Christmas Vacation” Theme
“Building a snowman the size of Colossus, or giving a yeti a shower. Fa la la la”

Do They Know it’s Christmas- Glee Cast
“And in our world of plenty, we can spread a smile of joy. Throw your arms around the world at Christmas time.”

White Christmas- The Drifters
“I, I, I, I’m dreaming of a white… Christmas! with every Christmas card I write.”

All I Want for Christmas is You- Lady Antebellum
“I just want you for my own, more than you could ever know…”

Last Christmas- Ashley Tisdale
“Happy Christmas. I wrapped it up and sent it with a note saying ‘I love you’, I meant it.”

Christmas Eve in Sarajevo- Trans Siberian Orchestra

Believe- Josh Groban
“Believe in what you feel inside, and give your dreams the wings to fly.”

Here are the blogs that regularly participate in the Music Themes if you’re interested: bearspawprint, 47whitebuffalo’s Blog, willowdot21, johnny ojanpera, Hat Paint, Ladders and Wonky Pooh, and of course Container Chronicles.

Well Bleaders, I hope your holidays are happy ones! Later today we’ll see my in-laws and then on the 28th we’ll see a chunk of my side of the family, but for the most part we’re home for the holidays. Cheers!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

