The Year of the Sheep

5 Jan

Happy new year, bleaders! I hope 2015 has been treating you well so far! Things have been rather good in my neck of the woods, though they’ll be better once my P.O. Box gets its first piece of mail, hehe. Despite not receiving anything from it yet I still love having it. It’s nice being able to provide an address here and in the LEP while not publicly giving away where the boys and I live. The world can be a scary place so this box has not only given me an opportunity to do the things I’ve mentioned here, but it has given me peace of mind.

Anyway, last year I thought it would be fun for those who were interested to make mail art for me with a Halloween theme. There was one fatal flaw though: I only let those who have our street address participate since I wasn’t comfortable letting anyone else have it. Now that I have the P.O. Box I think I need to revisit this idea!

In honor of the new year I thought I would choose a theme that literally honors it. When the Chinese New Year begins in February, 2015 will be considered the year of the sheep. I imagine monkeys or dragons would be a bit more fun to work with than sheep, so should you find looking at sheep tiresome I wouldn’t mind expanding the theme to sheep and other farm animals.

DSCF7746

So here’s how it will work! Now that you have the theme, you can make or decorate an envelope or postcard that reflects it– there’s no rush as you have up until the 25th of March to get these creations to me. I will post everything on that day so those who read this blog can vote for their favorite piece of mail art. The winner will be announced in the post that follows (on March 30th) and they shall receive a prize. All are welcome to participate!

The rules are simple!

  1. Make something that can be sent in the mail (letters and/or notes are optional) that fits the theme.
  2. Include your name and email somewhere on/in it so I can notify you should you win.
  3. Send it to:

address

Best of luck and all the best!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

7 Responses to “The Year of the Sheep”

  1. typingandthinking 01/05/2015 at 7:53 am #

    Haha i love the image! And a really well written post – i like it!

  2. kristiinal 01/05/2015 at 9:29 am #

    Wish I were good at mail art but no.. 😀
    But yay for the theme! Love it as I was born on the year of the sheep/goat!! Too bad that now that I’m staying in Thailand the goat stamp is UGLY! 😦

    • Sincerely Kate 01/05/2015 at 10:20 am #

      Logan and I are rabbits, and Gabe’s a rat, haha. I don’t think I’ve seen stamps with the Chinese zodiac on them before, ugly or otherwise 😛

  3. nerdinthebrain 01/05/2015 at 5:30 pm #

    *pondering sheep* 😀

  4. Nicolle 01/09/2015 at 10:26 pm #

    What a fun contest! I just might have to enter.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Footnotes | Sincerely Kate - 01/25/2015

    […] previous post you can look at is my first from this year. It’s a bit of a contest, encouraging anyone and everyone to decorate an envelope or make a […]

  2. Counting Sheep | Sincerely Kate - 03/25/2015

    […] ago, AKA Christmas, I got my P.O. Box, and one of the first things I did to break it in was hold a mail art contest. In honor of the Chinese New Year I thought “The Year of the Sheep” would be a fun […]

Leave a comment