Pen Pal of the Month- January

10 Jan

I acknowledged 12 pen pals back in 2013 and I decided it’s time I acknowledged another dozen. Sure, there will likely be some familiar faces from the first round, but now that I’ve made more pen friends from the League of Extraordinary Pen Pals (and another via postcrossing), it only seemed fair that they had a chance at the spotlight.

The first pen pal I heard from this year was Jody, a familiar face, so she is 2015’s first Pen Pal of the Month!

SK: How do you feel about being Pen Pal of the Month?

Jody: Oh wow, that’s awesome. Im thrilled and shocked to be the PPOTM.

Something else Jody loves: These containers full of paper and pens.

Something else Jody loves: These containers full of paper and pens.

SK: What has been your favorite thing about pen palling?

Jody: My favorite thing about it is meeting new people. I feel it is so much easier to talk to people than in person. I think it’s because I’m really shy in person. With a letter I can stop when I can’t think of anything and come back later with more to say. 

SK: What, if anything, is your least favorite thing about it?

Jody: When you take time and write a long letter and then all you get is a paragraph back. I would say every letter from an old pen pal of mine was like that. I used to wait till I didn’t have any letters to write to reply back.

SK: Why do you like writing me?

Jody: I like writing you because I feel like I can tell you anything.

SK: And what do you like about January?

Jody: I like January because even though I love the holidays I’m glad they’re over.

It has been great talking to Jody for over the past six years, especially since I can expect her letters weekly. With the return of Glee this week something she can expect is me getting a head-start on her letters until the show’s demise come March. At least Once Upon a Time will be back from their excruciating break by then, which means I probably will still be making head-starts on her letters, hehe. I gave her a few options for what homemade prize I could send her when I write her next– a postcard, an ATC, a bookmark, or a magnet– and she chose to have me make her a magnet to join her collection:

DSCF7749

You may be wondering how PPOTM 2.0 is going to work. Though it made sense for me to choose the person I heard from in 2015 for January, my game plan for the next 11 months is to pick an honoree raffle style. Who will be in the raffle to decide February’s Pen Pal of the Month? The people who sent me letters in January. Those I hear from in February could potentially be March’s, those in March April’s, etc. etc. Just like before no one can win more than once. So, for example, even though I hear from Jody weekly, her name won’t be included in any of the upcoming raffles. I’d be happy to answer whatever questions you may have!

Warm wishes from the mitten!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

 

2 Responses to “Pen Pal of the Month- January”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pen Pal of the Month- February | Sincerely Kate - 02/10/2015

    […] had the first of these raffles on the 1st. Each person, minus Jody, I got a letter from in January was in there once (even if they sent more than one letter), and I […]

  2. Pen Pal of the Month- April | Sincerely Kate - 04/10/2015

    […] Month works? Well, to find April’s honoree I put every pen pal I heard from in March (minus Jody, Jenn, and Sarah S.) into a raffle and pulled out Charmaine’s name. Those I hear from this […]

Leave a Reply

