A Year of Change

5 Jul

If you came to this blog post eager to find out what changes I’ve been making in my life, this isn’t a post about resolutions, but rather a revolution.

You see, ATC the Change turns 1 this month. If you’re new to this blog of mine, last July I shared the “origin story” about how one night Sarah wanted to start a movement where people told each other words of encouragement, and I suggested people do so on ATCs. Since then, we’ve taken that inch of an idea and ran a mile with it. This old blog post showed you what all I accomplished during the first month or so, and it’s about time I catch you up on this endeavor again… at least my side of it.

September:

Sarah, the cofounder and my pen pal, visited me over Labor Day weekend. Among our festivities we not only made a couple dozen Change cards, but we left a bunch, too! Sharon also started making/ leaving ATCs for the cause– remember her, she’ll be important.

October:

I started the month with a goal to use 10 phrases by the 10th (that I met!). By the 25th I sent a lot of ATCs to Sarah and still had all of these to abandon with love:

November:

The election and its aftermath had us feeling pretty low, so much so I wanted to make daily Change Cards, but only made a couple batches. My favorite quote from that time? “Worry is like a rocking chair. It’ll give you something to do, but it won’t get you anywhere.”

December:

Though I made ATCs with a 2016 calendar and an old notebook cover (see below), the lull seemed to continue.

January:

Despite the new year, things were rather anticlimactic with one neat exception: a waitress received two ATCs that Sarah had and joined our group the following morning, hehe.

February:

Still a lot of crickets, but I did have a couple ATCS to take with me when my mom and I went to celebrate my 30th birthday!

March:

It was on the 23rd that I posted that the desire to make ATCs was (slowly) coming back, because until this I was only making Little Cards anymore. By the 28th I had 13 Change Cards to abandon like this Alice one I left at Mad Hatter Bistro:

April:

It was in this month that I found that when I knew I’d be going somewhere– like Barnes & Noble with my mom– it was so much easier to make ATCs with those outings in mind.

May:

With that epiphany in mind, I turned 1 piece of scrapbook paper into 9 Change Cards to take with me to Saginaw, posting my progress as I made them. Seeing this mot only renewed Sharon’s interest, but inspired her to talk to the administrator of a regular ATC group about me advertising ATC the Change. I did so, and we successfully breathed new life into the group.

June:

I brought back the weekly phrases for those who wanted the inspiration. Meanwhile I was inspired to A) make a plethora of kid-friendly cards to take places like VBS, B) break in my Zodiac pad of scrapbook paper and dust off my stash of washi tape, C) turn ATCs that never traded into Change Cards (see picture), and I even D) made a printable for participants to attach to the backs of cards if they wanted to include information about the cause. I should mention I left about 30 cards 😉

July:

We may only be 5 days in, but so far I’ve left 11 ATCs, gave my mom 12 to take to Philly with her soon, and have 8 to give to the family who recently found one of my cards and joined the group!

The past year of ATC the Change summed up in a phrase: “Success is not a straight line, but a wild ride.” 😉

I am so grateful to have been a part of this from the ground up, and I know now it will only keep going up from here! When July is closer to an end and ATC the Change is officially 1, I will tell you (and show you) more of what I’ve been up to. Of course in the meantime you can follow me on Instagram– sincerelykaterz– or even join our Facebook group, ATC the Change.

It may not be easy to change the world or even just your town, but it can be easy to throw love like confetti. And with a lot of luck and determination– just like actual confetti– that stuff will get everywhere.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

 

Leave a Reply

