Highlights from the Hiatus

7 Apr

In another week I’m planning to resume my Hail the Snail posts where I log my incoming mail, but for now I thought I’d log some of my happiest mail from during the hiatus, along with some of my happiest times, too.

February 8th: This was the 3rd day in a row Logan got books from my mom, and I got to listen to him almost read ’em by himself, hehe.

February 12th: For a little Valentine-friendly outing, Gabe and I took Logan pottery painting for the first time. Here he is painting his “calico cat.”

February 21st: Manolo had two packages for me. One had a rather belated letter from Allison, and the other had early birthday presents from Sarah.

February 24th: The weekend before my 30th birthday, my mom and I went to the Troy area for a bit of a pre-party where the main objections were to go to the charming Mad Hatter Bistro, and make a celebratory stuffed animal at Build-a-Bear Workshop. Not only did those endeavors not disappoint, my mom made sure the rest of the weekend was awesome, too. The quilt included in the pictures was just one of many surprises!

March 1st: My first letter as a 30-year-old was from Jody, and my first postcard was from Sarah.

March 3rd: Today was the day I got my new journal from Wonderland 😉

March 6th: Not only did I get some fun birthday presents from Nicole, both the Inchies and Boy Bands sets of Little Cards came from Jenn along with her Hearts batch per my February theme.

March 15th: I should preface this chunk by saying that having to have a tooth pulled was not a happy experience. What made me happy, though, was 1) saying goodbye to a month of agonizing mouth pain and 2) no longer stressing over the procedure and taking valium for the first time. In fact, I quite liked my sole valium experience since it made me feel nothing but content. I feel like it “calmed the waters” more that day than the weeks I tried Prozac and Zoloft years ago. I don’t know; I guess I was just thankful for the temporary peace of mind.

March 16th: Sarah went to Florida for a large chunk of March, and though I got postcards from her while she was gone, I was so excited to get a letter from her upon her return!

March 18th: Though Gabe had presents for me back on March 1st, he knew what I really wanted for my birthday was to see Beauty and the Beast. Though the movie was not without its faults, overall I was so incredibly pleased with it. I’ve been telling my pen pals how I believe the movie was not made for kids, but rather people like us who grew up with the animated classic. I feel as though that is why they stayed so loyal to the original, mainly only fixing what was broken and giving the characters more depth.

March 28th: For reasons irrelevant to this blog, a young lady from Sweden was visiting my mom. And when I say young, I mean she’s a young adult into things like Glee and Disney movies like me. It’s because of this my mom had the brilliant idea for us to go back to Mad Hatter’s– the bistro in Troy we liked, this time for afternoon tea. Though the tea party is not something I’d do again, I am glad for the memories and for the fact I found a tea I actually enjoy (hot cinnamon spice). And icing on the cake? I came home to leggings in the mail, hehe. Here’s a group picture, by the way, though those leggings are a more older pair 😉

March 31st: The last thing I got in the mail last March? This adorable ATC! Fitting, since this is the last ATC I will get via private trades.

More happy mail to be posted about next Saturday, and maybe some more happy times, too. Thanks for reading this if you are, in fact, still reading this, and for tuning in this week at all.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

 

Leave a Reply

