Archive | 7:47 am

Even Slower than a Snail

3 Apr

It’s a trivial pet peeve, but I have often been annoyed when pan pals will apologize for taking so long to write. Here I am, though, wanting to apologize for not writing here since January. I wish I could say the hiatus has been because I’ve been too busy living life to write about it, but the truth is that I fell into a depression. Like, if you thought this blog suffered, you should have seen my house.

In my last post I said that blogging just hadn’t been a priority, and honestly writing letters and making ATCs weren’t much of ones either. I only made Little Cards per my theme group, and letters were tended to over a week or two rather than a day or two like my pen pals have come to expect. I know no one but me actually minded, but when it comes to depression (with a side of anxiety), you just feel like you’re letting everyone down.

Thankfully over the past week or so, I’ve been feeling like I’m getting my mojo back. I’ve been staying caught up on letters, I’ve been making things for ATC the Change again, and I have more blog posts planned for the duration of the week (mainly Postcards from Wonderland ones 😉 ). A few things have changed to make this change possible. First, I dropped someone I didn’t enjoy corresponding with even before my depression, and second, I disbanded my Postcard Posse since despite starting over after some drama, my heart just wasn’t it. I think with any hobby there just comes a time where you feel like you’re doing it more out of obligation than enjoyment, and in my case, saying goodbye to what felt more like chores has helped reinvigorate me. I still have a ways to go, but I’m glad about how far I’ve come. In the meantime, I appreciate your patience.

Until tomorrow!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

