Posse Problems

21 Sep

Last June, I started what I affectionately refer(red) to my Postcard Posse. Basically what it is, is a handful of people signed up to get random postcards from me sporadically, so I can downsize the massive stash I have.

You may be wondering why I don’t use a site like Postcrossing, and though I have in the past, there are several reasons why I don’t anymore. 1) There is a limit to how many postcards you can send until your outgoing postcards have been registered, 2) you can’t just send within the US, and the cost of international postage adds up rather fast, and 3) honestly, I like sending them a lot more than getting them… unless they’re Alice in Wonderland-friendly 😉

So here is where the Posse came in! I send postcards to one of the nine people whenever I don’t get anything to respond to, and they’re all within the US to keep the cost low.

Turns out, however, that I have been wasting a bit of postage. Someone– let’s call her Zoe– signed up for my posse, but gave me the address of a P.O. box she no longer rented! I left my email address on one of my postcards to Zoe, and fortunately one of the postal workers at Temp Mill Ave. Post Office spotted it so she could let me know that the box has been vacant… for two years!

I am incredibly grateful for the staff at that post office letting me know that I shouldn’t bother sending any more postcards to Zoe, but it really annoys me how much time and money was wasted before they were able to. Honestly it hurts that someone would take advantage of my generosity in such a twisted way. I’m trying to chalk it up to an honest mistake, but if the box has been vacant for two years, Zoe would have had her actual address long enough to not mix addresses when she gave “hers” to me last June.

I find myself a bit jaded about sending postcards now. So much so I am going to continue to send them only once I check with the rest of my posse to make sure they still want them.

Sorry for a bit of a downer post, but I wanted to post today as it’s the third Wednesday of the month, and this is what poured out. Hopefully Sincerely Kate will be home to more happy posts about happy mail and similar subjects soon!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

5 Responses to “Posse Problems”

  1. Deborah 09/21/2016 at 1:18 pm #

    I didn’t like it because of what happened, but because you have a plan for moving forward with it with the people who do appreciate it. Not all posts are going to be happy ones, so you’re entitled on occasion, especially when someone does something like that. Yay for postal workers who are as thoughtful as that woman was. 🙂

  2. katiegirl06460 09/21/2016 at 8:58 pm #

    I am sorry that happened to you. That’s why I haven’t joined any swaps, or any of those round robins because I don’t have the money or the time for them (not to mention the creativity). I have a number of regular letters I need to do.

    I had done a swap many moons ago and the swap partner didn’t fulfill their end of it and the co-owner of the list had to do it.

    • Sincerely Kate 09/28/2016 at 8:18 am #

      The Postcard Posse isn’t actually a swap. It’s me just sending people postcards expecting nothing in return.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back from the Grave | Sincerely Kate - 10/08/2016

    […] of annoying, I am still tending to my “Posse Problem” from last month. I have sent postcards to everyone in my Postcard Posse who isn’t also […]

  2. Postcard Posse Sign Ups | Sincerely Kate - 11/16/2016

    […] the Postcard Posse last summer, and now I’d like to open it up to more people, as I have vacancies to […]

Leave a Reply

