Pen Pal of the Month- December

10 Dec

For 2016’s last PPOTM entry, I will be honoring Kristy, the pen pal I’ve had now for a little over a year. She started off as someone I just sent a postcard across Lake Michigan to via postcrossing, but because I mentioned pen palling on said postcard, she messaged me asking if I’d like to keep exchanging mail. It’s a good thing I did, eh?

Kristy of Wisconsin

Kristy of Wisconsin

SK: How do you feel about being Pen Pal of the Month?

Kristy: I’m surprised honestly and a little excited to be the something of the month – I’ve never have been anything like that! ha ha

SK: What has been your favorite thing about pen palling?

Kristy: My favorite thing is it feels like having a best friend with someone you never even met. Then when you do get a chance to meet the person it’s like all those years of writing felt like you’ve been friends the entire time. 

SK: What, if anything, is your least favorite thing about it?

Kristy: My least favorite thing is when life gets in the way. I hate getting behind on letters and seeing the pile just getting higher and higher. The other thing is when there is a lull in letters and I feel like I have nothing to do!!  

SK: Why do you like writing me?

Kristy:  I like writing with you because I love chatting about books and TV shows and just the random daily life things. I also love exchanging recipes too! My husband still loves the Buffalo Chicken Lasagna recipe.

SK: And what do you like about December?

Kristy: What I love about December is the snow (when I don’t have to drive in it), ice fishing at our cabin, the holiday season, and visiting my family and hanging out with my nephew while he is off school.

Something I’m liking about December? Getting to retire this series for the time being. I love my pen pals, but I’m remembering and reliving how burnt out I felt towards these posts when I did the first run in 2013. Perhaps I’ll bring it back in 2017, but for now I’ll just keep sending anyone I honored here in 2015 more happy mail.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

Leave a Reply

