Pen Pal of the Month- July

10 Jul

When my dad was visiting me last month, he asked me where I kept my letters so I grabbed one of my binders and told him how I keep everything in the order received. He seemed pretty shocked when I told him that it was one of several binders, and even more shocking was the fact that the binder I grabbed was the one reserved solely for Justine’s letters. It was a bit of a peculiar moment for me. My dad shares my love of writing, yet seemed surprised that Justine and I have such long exchanges and so regularly, hence the need for her own book. I simply explained to him that when it comes to Justine, out of all the pen pals I have she is the one who I’d likely hang out with the most often if for some reason everyone was close enough I could see them whenever I wanted to, and our letters have become a reflection of that. I’m both glad and grateful that she is my Pen Pal of the Month again.

This is Justine, and beside her is the binder my dad saw:

SK: How do you feel about being Pen Pal of the Month?

Justine: I’m honored and humbled. My work won’t ever interview me for the monthly office newsletter because the HR assistant is afraid I’ll give really sarcastic answers to subtlety make fun of the hoity-toity attorneys I work with. 

SK: What has been your favorite thing about pen palling?

Justine: My favorite thing would be meeting people that I get along with and really like talking to. Plus, if we stop talking it’s not super awkward when I see you out at a restaurant or bar because I don’t live close to any of my pen pals. 

SK: What, if anything, is your least favorite thing about it?

Justine: My least favorite thing is that sometimes when I’m super busy I can’t write for a few days or even a week and I feel bad.

SK: Why do you like writing me?

Justine: My favorite thing about having you as a pen pal is that I can tell you anything and you don’t judge me (well at least not in your letters back to me). I think that if you lived closer we’d be good friends that hung out on the regular. 

SK: And what do you like about July?

Justine: Summer is halfway over! Fall is my favorite season! But I do love that the sun comes up earlier so when I get up at 5am to go to the gym it isn’t pitch black. Oh and I love to sit and read at the pool. And when there aren’t any kids at the pool I’ll even get IN the pool with my book to keep cool. I know, I know. I live life on the wild side.

A fun fact about July? It was in July of 2011 when I got my second letter from Justine, and I already knew she was going to be a favorite.

Have a great month!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

Leave a Reply

