Books and Crannies #3

20 Jun

The time has come once again to take a break from my pen pal hobby and talk about the books I’ve read over the past couple months. Well, sort of. This time around doesn’t feel like much of a “break” as one of the two books is about the friendship that blossomed as two kids began to write each other, hehe. Prior to that book though I finally finished Miss Peregrines…, so let’s get to it!

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children— Ransom Riggs. I wanted to like this book so much more than I did. In hindsight I should have discarded it, but the plot sounded so intriguing and I loved the incorporation of peculiar pictures. Unfortunately this book just lacked oomph and there wasn’t a single character in it I rooted for; it was too easy for me to put down and then get distracted by other things– even cleaning! If someone were to decide to read this book I would not discourage them because with a movie in the works, especially a Tim Burton one, it’s possible I’m just in the minority. That said, the pen pals I’ve talked to who have read it all have made me feel like the book did drag along, and I don’t think they seem all that interested in reading the sequel either. Do with that information what you will.

I Will Always Write Back– Caitlyn Alifirenka and Martin Ganda with Liz Welch. This was such a sweet read. I knew I would like it because it was about the exchange between two pen pals, but I wound up loving it because it was about so much more than that. Though Caitlyn and Martin started writing to each other because of school, they quickly thought of each other as family. To know the few dollars she, an American, sent to him in Zimbabwe helped him and his family so enormously touched my heart, and I even found myself grateful when Kaitlyn and her family began to support Martin’s family and education. To see him climb out of poverty was absolutely amazing, but what really made this an endearing read was seeing how much Caitlyn grew as she wrote Martin. The subtitle of this book is “How One Letter Changed Two Lives,” and not only is that appropriate for this book, it’s appropriate for how much the letters I have received have impacted me.

I was hoping to have finished Postcards from Wonderland by the time this post came around, but I’m no where close to finished with that book. What I will tell you about it though is that its author, Rona Simmons, found me after stumbling upon my blog posts here by the same name as her novel, hehe. I sort of feel like I shot myself in the foot with these Books and Crannies posts of mine. Two months sounded like I’d have plenty of time to read, but in actuality the deadlines made reading feel too much like work. Because of this, this bi-monthly series shall too be retired. I’m still planning to review books in the second half of the year, though it’ll be even leisurely yet.

Happy reading! And/or writing 😉
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

 

Leave a Reply

