Pen Pal of the Month- May

10 May

I was both excited and worried when I pulled Allison’s name out of the drawing I had to find May’s PPOTM. Excited because we’ve been pen pals for almost 10 years, and worried because she had hundreds of pages worth of grad school work to do before the semester wrapped up. Fortunately for us though, she not only accepted the accolade, but took advantage of her mood to have fun with some of the questions…

retiredSK: How do you feel about being Pen Pal of the Month?

Allison: I am the chosen one.

SK: What has been your favorite thing about pen palling?

Allison: I’ve moved around a lot, and sometimes quite far to places where I knew no one. Pen palling has provided me with a consistent connection to friends, even in the times when I didn’t have any nearby.

SK: What, if anything, is your least favorite thing about it?

Allison: I hate when you start writing a new pen pal, and you think they’re going to be awesome, and they turn out to be a representative of the demon Azzirogh instead. So annoying.

SK: Why do you like writing me?

Allison: Well we’ve been writing for forever now, and still no signs of Azzirogh, so you’re probably clean. Plus, you have a super admirable ability to make all of your pen pals feel special and loved and interesting.

SK: And what do you like about May?

Allison: This would probably be different for every year that I’ve been alive. A few years ago, my favorite part of May would have been the awesome Beltane celebrations we were having. This year, it’s going to be getting a much-needed break from grad school.

This isn’t the first time Allison has been my Pen Pal of the Month; she first received the honor in April of 2013. In that post I said how it’s been an absolute pleasure writing her, and though that was and is true, I feel like that’s such an understatement. I can’t imagine we would have been writing for so long if we wouldn’t have generally connected. We support and encourage each other, and are always willing to help each other to the best of our abilities. She’s not just “nice to write,” but one of my favorite confidants.

Perhaps it’s sad that most of the people I’m close to are ones I’ve never met, but for a girl who expresses herself best in writing, I don’t think a better hobby exists. Though blogging is nice 😉 See you on the 15th!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

Leave a Reply

