Footnotes: April Edition

25 Apr

Much like the January edition of Footnotes, this post is going to be my pen pal-friendly take on “If we were having coffee.” You see, I have several things I’d like to share, though they don’t necessarily need their own posts. At least not yet πŸ˜‰ So without further ado…

Logan & His Little Cousins

The Loganator is officially registered for preschool. While I don’t think I’ll ever like the fact that my little guy’s no longer little, I am coming to terms with him growing up. It helps having a little nephew and another one on the way. Around the same time Logan will be starting school, my brother Tom and his wife will be starting their own ride with their own little boy. And let’s not forget about my nephew Christian. Exactly one year ago I posted this in his honor– it’s hard to believe he’s already one. Last year I said that the three of use were always going to be in his corner, and that’s still as true as ever. Over the past year he’s been through more than any baby should, but he has been so resilient. I hope that the little soldier holds onto that attitude as he grows up!

Gnome Work

On the same day that Christian turned one, I announced the new theme for my sporadic mail art contests via the post Gnome Work. The contest entails either making or decorating an envelope (or postcard if you’d rather) with gnomes on it and sending it to my P.O. box. I will share all the entries I’ve received on June 25th, which means you still have two months to participate if you haven’t done so already. Along with the entries there will be a poll where people can vote for their favorite. The winner will be announced in the following post (June 30th) and they’ll receive homemade prizes soon after πŸ™‚

The Con/Dom Gnomes

Speaking of gnomes, I thought I’d make two to send among my pen pals. They turned out a bit phallic so I decided to name one Conner and the other Dominic– the first syllables of each name are the syllables of the word “condom,” haha.

Conner will be paying Emily a visit soon, but first he spent time with Justine. She took a bunch of pictures so I’ll share a couple favorites along with her captions:


As for Dominic, he is still with his first host family. Jenn has yet to share any pictures, but given how much her daughter was enjoying the little guy, I’m expecting to see some cute ones very soon. Here is a picture I took of him before he left my humble abode with his travel journal:

DSCF8032

The Pocket Letter

DSCF8041As I was sending Dominic to Jenn, she was sending me this pocket letter. In a nutshell, a pocket letter consists of a page protector with 9 slots (typically used for baseball cards) that have components tucked into them. The components can be anything from ATCs to a folded note to a small candy or tea bag. Jenn went the ATC route, though there are little notes tucked behind each one. The one I’m currently making for her will also feature ATCs. I really need to work on it some more… especially if I’m going to be making another next month πŸ˜‰

The March of Postcards

Last year I sent a postcard to Othella every day in March and she did the same for me. I originally explained it here, and once I got all of her postcards I shared them here. Othella and I enjoyed this so much we decided to do it again last month. She has had all 31 of mine for a while now, but many of the ones she sent me still have yet to arrive. Ordinarily I’d be convinced that things have been lost, but the ones I have received trickled in so damn slowly I’m not assuming anything. In May, at some point, I will post whatever managed to march to Michigan from Oklahoma since I’m getting especially impatient. This is the obsessive blog of a compulsive pen pal after all!

Well, I think that was everything I wanted to share this time around. Take care!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

12 Responses to “Footnotes: April Edition”

  1. Shannon 04/27/2015 at 6:56 am #

    Ohh pocketletter!! I’ve yet to try these, but would like to soon!

    • Sincerely Kate 04/27/2015 at 7:34 am #

      Would you like to one for me and I’ll make one for you? I’m almost done with the one for Jenn πŸ˜€

      • Shannon 04/27/2015 at 9:41 pm #

        I’d love to! πŸ™‚

      • Sincerely Kate 04/28/2015 at 7:11 am #

        *Throws confetti* I shall give you my email address so you can send me your address. Feel free to include anything you’d like me to try and incorporate (like how I like gnomes and anything Alice in Wonderland) πŸ™‚

      • Shannon 04/28/2015 at 7:48 am #

        Woohoo! πŸ™‚ Sounds like a plan! I like gnomes too! And also mushrooms, woodland creatures, hot air balloons and rubber boots/ garden tools! ^^ You don’t have to incorporate any of those things, they are just things I like, for ideas πŸ™‚ I’m happy with most things!! This will be fun!! πŸ™‚

      • Sincerely Kate 04/28/2015 at 10:07 am #

        Ha, just realized I didn’t enclose my email address above. sincerelykate@hotmail.com— thanks for the ideas! I will start something for you soon πŸ˜€

      • Shannon 04/28/2015 at 10:39 am #

        Haha, yea I was starting to wonder if I missed it somewhere ^^ I’ve just started working on yours! It’ll probably take me a few days at the rate I’m going though hehe! πŸ˜›

      • Sincerely Kate 04/28/2015 at 10:52 am #

        I have an idea for yours, but it involves taking something from my son’s coloring book so I have to be stealthy! πŸ˜€

      • Shannon 04/28/2015 at 11:07 am #

        lol! XP

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. April’s Mail Call | Sincerely Kate - 04/30/2015

    […] 24th: Yet another letter from Jody and also my pocket letter from […]

  2. The Pursuit of SKrapiness | Sincerely Kate - 05/15/2015

    […] to making Conner and Dominic (shown here), I made a new batch of traveling squirrels for the […]

  3. Pen Pal of the Month- June | Sincerely Kate - 06/10/2015

    […] share that with you here. Instead I will share with you one of the pictures Erika took ofΒ ConnerΒ when he was visiting her recently– it’s from where she does her crafts and such […]

Leave a Reply

