Books and Crannies #2

20 Apr

Welcome back to this bi-monthly series, bleaders! I am happy to report that when I wasn’t writing letters (or blog posts about writing letters), I not only finished reading Love, Rosie but another three books as well. It probably would have been more if I wouldn’t have gotten stuck on Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, but I’m not complaining. Like my previous post, I will take a break from writing about my pen pal hobby to tell you about the books I’ve read per my secondary hobby.

Love, Rosie– Cecelia Ahern. I have had this book for well over a year without looking at it, and if I wouldn’t have seen the trailer for the movie on youtube, much more time would have passed. I think I was intimidated because the book’s almost 500 pages long, but I now know not to judge a book by the space between its covers. The story is told through letters, emails, and instant messaging, so it’s definitely not the daunting read I was anticipating. If anything that concept just made this book appeal to me more considering how I love getting my own letters so much. The main correspondents in Love, Rose were Rosie (obviously) and BFF Alex. Their feelings for each other grew as they both grew up, though life had a way of making them never act on them. There’s part of me that thought it was a sweet read as they finally caught their break after so many missed opportunities, but there were a lot of things that were a bit bitter. That break, for example, came at the very last page of the book, so though I know what happens, I don’t know what happened. Despite that bittersweet feeling I’ve been left with, I’d recommend this book and am glad my copy’s no longer collecting dust but traveling among fellow members of the LEP.

Shoot the Moon– Billie Letts. Justine sent this book to me, and I’m glad she did because it was a good mix of self discovery, a budding romance, and whodunit. Within the first few chapters I already had my suspicions of who was responsible for Gaylene’s pregnancy, and who was responsible for her death. I am pleased to report that I was right about one thing (the former), but wouldn’t have considered the other. It was one of those things where I had an “I guess that makes sense” reaction while also thinking Letts just wanted to throw a curveball. Regardless, I liked it and would gladly watch it like Broadchurch and Secrets and Lies if it were to ever become a TV show.

Mr. Kiss and Tell– Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham. Though I didn’t discover Veronica Mars until the show was off the air, I still consider myself a huge fan. I was so incredibly excited when the bulk of the cast reunited to make a movie last year, and the books that have followed have been just as worthy of my excitement. Click me to see the first book’s review. Just like the book that came before it, Mr. Kiss and Tell reads just like you were watching an episode. You can practically hear what would have been Kristen Bell’s voiceovers and see Enrico Colantoni’s facial expressions. It’s obvious that Rob Thomas, the show’s creator, really takes pride in this franchise, and has had fun finding ways to bring back characters who were insignificant before on the show along with other Easter eggs. If you like the show, I’m confident you’d like the books. You might even like ’em without the show, but I think you should watch the show first– you’d definitely enjoy the books more.

Under the Light– Laura Whitcomb. This book is the sequel to A Certain Slant of Light— a novel I reviewed in my first Books and Crannies post. Though I was hoping Under the Light would include what happened with Helen and James, I was not disappointed that the story focused on Jenny and Billy. Jenny and Billy, you see, were the people possessed by Helen and James when the ghosts fell in love, and when their souls intertwined, something happened with Jenny and Billy’s spirits. Even better yet, Helen, who stayed behind to make sure Jenny was okay, didn’t narrate the entire thing, but just what Jenny couldn’t very well describe. With James up in heaven, Helen was back to her stick in the mud tendencies, but that aside this book lived up to the one that came before it, so if you liked the first I think you’d like this too.

I am still slowly but surely making my way through Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, but I’m confident I’ll be finishing it before the month is over. *Knock on wood.* The next Books and Crannies post will happen in June, though you may see a book review or two before then 😉 Happy reading!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

One Response to “Books and Crannies #2”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Books and Crannies #3 | Sincerely Kate - 06/20/2015

    […] friendship that blossomed as two kids began to write each other, hehe. Prior to that book though I finally finished Miss Peregrines…, so let’s get to […]

Leave a Reply

