Pen Pal of the Month- March

10 Mar

In 2013 I decided to have a Pen Pal of the Month series here on Sincerely Kate, and now that several people have come and gone, I decided it was time to do it again. Those who have stuck with me deserve to be acknowledged a second time, and those I have met over the past year or so have earned some of the spotlight as well. All of the pen pals I heard from in February were put into a raffle, and I pulled out Sarah’s name.

She's the one on the left :-)

She’s the one on the left πŸ™‚

11051133_10153206625304189_1394045107_nMuch like Jenn, last month’s Pen Pal of the Month, Sarah was one of the very first LEPeeps I started writing when I joined The League of Extraordinary Pen Pals last year. Well, sort of. Sarah writes several stories and likes the characters she created so much she likes to write letters as them. When I first started writing “her” last year, my letters actually went to a vampire named Michael (shown right). It was fun at first, but it started getting a bit too much like Twilight (something she since has been modifying), so I bowed out, offering to write her as herself instead. She was a bit resistant at first, but she accepted and it’s been smooth sailing ever since. She has definitely earned her spotlight here, so without further ado…

SK: How do you feel about being Pen Pal of the Month?

Sarah: Excited! It’s fun to be chosen!

SK: What has been your favorite thing about pen palling?

Sarah: Getting to know lots of new people, and introducing them to my characters/getting to talk to them about my stories. I love my stories so much and I love it when other people love them with me:)

SK: What, if anything, is your least favorite thing about it?

Sarah: Waiting for replies! Sometimes, with international mail, the transit times are excruciating! I want all the mail, right now! πŸ™‚

SK: Why do you like writing me?

Sarah: You write back quickly, you ask good questions and you’re laid back.

SK: And what do you like about March?

Sarah: It finally starts warming up! Especially after this winter — we are buried in snow and coming out of weeks of ridiculously cold temperatures! Also, Dairy Queen opens for the season. Mmmm, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Blizzard…

I wonder what Sarah will get first– one of those blizzards or this postcard I made. She selected the latter as her prize πŸ™‚

DSCF7940

I am really glad that Julie, the mind behind the LEP, once posted that Sarah responds to letters rather quickly, because I don’t know if Sarah and I would have started writing if she hadn’t. The past year seems to have been filled with a bit of trial and error, but I think we’re better pen friends now because of it. Looking forward to the next year’s worth of letters, and the first of her stories being published, hehe.

All the best!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

 

One Response to “Pen Pal of the Month- March”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pen Pal of the Month- April | Sincerely Kate - 04/10/2015

    […] to find April’s honoree I put every pen pal I heard from in March (minus Jody, Jenn, and Sarah S.) into a raffle and pulled out Charmaine’s name. Those I hear from this month will be eligible […]

Leave a Reply

