Vari-Kate-ions: 37-40

5 Mar

In May of last year I got the crazy idea to take this list of 100 themes and make some random mail out of each of them. This is still very much a work in progress, mainly, I think, because the novelty wore off. I went from stopping myself from doing more than 10 projects in a month to being lucky if I did more than five over a couple months. Because of this, I decided Vari-Kate-ions would no longer be a monthly post here on Sincerely Kate, but something I’ll do when I have 5 projects to share. Yes, I know this post only has 4, but A) I’ll easily be able to keep track of when I’ve done 5 projects after these 4, and B) I just had a birthday so roll with it.

The themes I tackled over the past couple of months have been Eyes, Abandoned, Dreams, and Rated.

DSCF7762With a theme like Eyes the decision to draw something for Allison came easily. I immediately started thinking about a three-eyed monster I could doodle, only to then think “I could make a monster on each page, using the number of eyes to number the pages!” With the exception of four-eyes, I couldn’t be happier about how they turned out.

DSCF7785Though I still want Othella to pick most of the postcards she uses for me via the March of Postcards, we also decided to send each other our own blank postcards that we wanted to keep for ourselves. When I sent mine for her to fill out, I also told her why I liked each of them, “abandoning” the stories before they were finished.

DSCF7875One morning I had this dream that woke me up because I had to write it all down– there was dialogue I remembered and everything. If a story ever comes out of it that would be fantastic, but for right now I’m glad I had those notes because I shared them with Allison in one of my letters to her.

DSCF7913My project for Rated also went to Allison. In our twisted way she challenged me to ask her 60 questions when I wrote her, and I decided that a chunk of them would be about stuff that’s rated. One question was “What’s your favorite G rated movie?” and “If your life was a movie what would it be rated?” was another.

In case anyone is interested in the 36 projects that were last year’s news, I put together an archive of sorts for you here:

You may be wondering why all my Vari-Kate-ions go to Allison and Othella these days, and the answer is simple: they’ve been the two people to consistently want them. I have sent things to other pen pals in the past per their one-time requests, but Allison and Othella were my “monthly subscribers.” Now that Vari-Kate-ions are on the back burner, it has been nice not having to ask who wants a project of mine, but to just do projects when I’m already sending something to Allison and Othella. If someone– like you!– were to ever want something though, all you have to do is ask.

All the best with whatever projects you’re working on!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

5 Responses to “Vari-Kate-ions: 37-40”

  1. nerdinthebrain 03/05/2015 at 9:55 am #

    I super-love your eye doodles!!! Everything else is awesome, too, of course, but those eyes are just fantastic. 😀

    Speaking of mail, my lovely, some super-secret mail will be heading your way tomorrow…for reasons, there were delays, but we’re on track again now. 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 03/05/2015 at 10:50 am #

      I think out of ALL the Variation stuff, the Eyes have been my favorite. Looking forward to getting whatever it is I will be getting! I’ll let you know when it gets here ❤

  2. Shannon 03/28/2015 at 9:40 pm #

    Such a cute way to number the pages!!

    • Sincerely Kate 03/29/2015 at 7:12 am #

      Thanks! I may have to revisit that idea someday as it has been a favorite project 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lefty Loosey | Sincerely Kate - 07/06/2016

    […] and make happy mail revolving around each of them. I made a big dent, getting to 40 according to this, but the chances of me finishing it are slim to none. When I made the last few, I was only making […]

Leave a Reply

