Another One Bites the Dust

5 Feb

When I’ve written intro letters in the past, I would tell my potential pen pals that I lived in Fairgrove with my husband Gabe, our son Logan, and two cats who were both named Snickers– the one Gabe had since his college days and the one I begged my mom for when I was 11 years old.

148164_1696803340902_2624897_n

Unfortunately Gabe’s Snickers died in November, and now mine is gone too.

As sad as it is to lose a pet, I couldn’t be happier about the way Snickers, AKA Tuna, passed away. He was with me for almost 17 years and only started showing his age around this time last month. There was a rapid decline from there; it was long enough for us to come to terms with what was about to happen, but short enough that he never seemed to suffer. Sure, he wasn’t eating, barely used his litter box, and slept solely on the floor, but he never cried out or just flopped over the way the other cat did. He seemed to die peacefully and I have taken comfort in that.

148164_1696803420904_2604557_n

I miss having a pet. On the days Gabe’s working and Logan’s at his grandparents’, I am constantly reminded that I am all alone. There will be the occasional noise in the house, and without an animal in it too they’ve become more noticeable, mainly because I don’t have that peace of mind that comes with assuming the pet made said noise. My lazy housecat wouldn’t have protected us from a mouse let alone an intruder, but it’s still unnerving that he’s gone. There has been part of me that has been tempted to get a hamster to nip that feeling in the bud, but before long– in May probably– the boys and I are hoping to welcome a lab puppy into our family. Gabe and I have talked about the new addition for a while, ultimately deciding to wait until the cats were gone to avoid any cat vs. dog drama. But I digress.

182032_1845772945049_5147785_n

Logan definitely seemed more sad this time around. I think when Gabe’s Snickers died a few months ago, Logan more or less thought he ran away and could come back. Since that last part never happened, Logan now knows that this death thing is permanent. Every so often he’ll say he misses Tuna and each time he does it makes me want to get that hamster that much more. It’s all just so bittersweet. We’re excited for our potential furry family members, but at the same time my cat’s death has felt like the end of an era.

44510_1572743759490_5169213_n

Sure, that “era” has included a lot of moments where he was an absolute jerk. He fought with every cat he has lived with, tried marking his territory when they were boys despite being fixed, humped my stuffed animals, ATE my first hamster, and peed on some of Logan’s toys back when the little guy first started walking. In spite of all those things though, he was my cat and I’m always going to remember him fondly.

Tuna

In the words of my FB status on January 28th, “RIP, Snickers AKA Tuna. You were a douche, but you were our douche.”

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

16 Responses to “Another One Bites the Dust”

  1. katiegirl06460 02/05/2015 at 8:38 am #

    Aw I am sorry for your loss…We (Sky, Tiger and me) send our love and healing thoughts to you.

  2. lalumii 02/05/2015 at 11:34 am #

    It stinks that your cat died. It’s always awful losing a pet (as annoying as they can be!). It’s awesome that you’re getting a lab, though– dogs are another amazing addition to the family.

    • Sincerely Kate 02/05/2015 at 12:07 pm #

      Yeah, with a little boy around here we love the idea of him having an animal that could really be a best friend to him. And labs are such good family dogs!

  3. Jade Reyner 02/05/2015 at 3:06 pm #

    My cat is 17 too, and I am dreading the day when she visits cat heaven. I know what you mean about the house being empty though. My Mum’s last cat died numerous years ago now and yet every time I visit, I still expect her to be there. Good luck with the new pet and I hope your son enjoys the dog. 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 02/06/2015 at 6:39 am #

      If it wasn’t for Logan I don’t think we’d be getting a dog, so yeah, I think he’ll love it!

  4. NotAPunkRocker 02/05/2015 at 4:19 pm #

    I’m sorry for your loss, and congrats on the new addition.

    Our cats are 15 and 12 this month, still acting like kittens, but I do know the day gets closer every year.

    • Sincerely Kate 02/06/2015 at 6:36 am #

      The new addition won’t happen for a while yet, but thanks! Gabe’s Snickers was the same way. If he wouldn’t have had the “incident” last year I imagine he’d be with us for a couple more years at least.

  5. Deborah 02/06/2015 at 4:04 am #

    Sounds like your mother is a pushover. 😉

    • Sincerely Kate 02/06/2015 at 6:39 am #

      Por que?

      • Deborah 02/06/2015 at 7:13 am #

        porque tienes el gato Suplicaste

      • Sincerely Kate 02/06/2015 at 12:03 pm #

        Yeah, all I got was the cat.

      • Deborah 02/06/2015 at 9:52 pm #

        you’ve had plenty of other things through the years. 😉

  6. ParentingIsFunny 02/09/2015 at 7:16 pm #

    What lovely fat, fluffy cats. Sorry for your loss.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Love Notes Revisited | Sincerely Kate - 03/15/2015

    […] Gabe and Logan are gone, I no longer feel as if I’m completely alone like I did when my cat passed away. I hope that with time he won’t mind us holding him without running across our hands like […]

  2. Categorically Cats | Container Chronicles - 11/07/2015

    […] reverse order, with Snickers living to a ripe cat age of nearly 18 years. Kate wrote this post for Snickers, aka Tuna after he died in […]

Leave a Reply

