Snail Mail My Email

5 Dec

Something pretty awesome happened last month… Snail Mail My Email did their 4th annual week of turning ordinary emails into 7,000+ extraordinary letters. I thought about volunteering prior to this year’s event, but got the impression they didn’t need more volunteers at that time. However, once the project actually started they realized they were going to need more hands on deck and I immediately offered mine. Shocker, right? 😉

Because I wasn’t one of the initial volunteers I didn’t send 10+ letters like others, but just these 7 things:

To France. Custom Option: Flower Petal, Roses, and Blue Butterflies.

To France. Custom Option: Flower Petal, Roses, and Blue Butterflies.

To Australia. Custom Option: Doodle.

To Australia. Custom Option: Doodle.

To Australia. Custom Option: Doodle.

To Australia. Custom Option: Doodle.

To Kentucky. Custom Option: Doodle.

To Kentucky. Custom Option: Doodle.

To Brasil. Custom Option: Lipstick Kiss. (I cheated-- I neither own lipstick nor felt comfortable transcribing a language I'm not fluent in :-P )

To Brasil. Custom Option: Lipstick Kiss. (I cheated– I neither own lipstick nor felt comfortable transcribing a language I’m not fluent in 😛 )

To California. Custom Option: Doodle.

To California. Custom Option: Doodle.

To Montana. Custom Option: Flower Petal.

To Montana. Custom Option: Flower Petal.

I’m my own worst critic so I feel like some of the above could have been better, but I still believe they made/ they’ll make their recipients happier than an email would have so mission accomplished. Besides, I think it’s more important to have fun when it comes to snail mail than to make it perfect. As much as I like this whole concept, a few of the above– mainly the thank you note– likely would have meant so much more to the recipient if the person who did the typing did the writing instead. Yes, an email is more convenient these days, but that just makes the things you take the time to send that much more special. Not that I mind helping with that!

The one thing I would change about this project is making the “doodle” option a bit more specific. It would have been nice to know if someone would like flowers or animals or something else entirely. I’m not in your relationship, love letter writers, so I don’t know what would be the most meaningful, let alone appropriate. As much as I appreciate the creative license, I found that the projects I was the most excited to start working on were the ones where I was given a bit more direction.

My grievances– if you can call them that– aside, I love this project, would do it again in a heartbeat, and wish it happened for more than a week each year. That said, if there’s something mail-friendly I can ever assist you with, dear bleaders, don’t hesitate to ask!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

P.S. Check out #SnailMailMyEmail on Instagram for a plethora of awesome letters. 🙂

One Response to “Snail Mail My Email”

  1. Mere 12/05/2014 at 7:38 am #

    What a fun project! I could see wanting more direction when creating doodles, by the way. But then, had I been the one who wrote the email, it would probably be more exciting to see what the person designing the letter would come up with, without too much direction. Either way, your letters look so nice!

Leave a Reply

