Thank You Notes ’14- Part 3

25 Nov

Here is the third and final installment of this mini-series where, without using names for kicks and giggles, I thank each of my current pen pals for being so awesome and sending such awesome mail. So without further ado…

~ If someone would have told me this time last year I’d send daily postcards for a month to a new friend and then meet her six months later, I would have thought it’d be awesome, though I’m not sure I would have believed it. You are as lovely in person as you are in print. Not every one could say so much on the limited space of a postcard resulting in a lasting friendship, but you, when you’re able, make it seem so effortless.

~ Out of all the pen pals I currently have, you’ve been mine the longest. In a different blog post I said that I don’t mind experimenting with my letters to you because I haven’t scared you off in 9 years, and though that’s as true as ever, it’s also easy for me to do those things because of how supportive of them you are and because I know I can trust you. Thanks for trusting me with your own things as of late, by the way!

~ You, my dear, had me at Veronica Mars. It was because of you I found out the book following the movie existed and heard that “Mr. Kiss & Tell” will be released early next year. It turns out, however, that we have much more in common since 1) you have a daughter close to Logan’s age and 2) we get all excited about new crafts only to get easily distracted. I may not use the adorable mini stamps you acquired for me very often, but I still adore them, though I adore you (and your handwriting) even more.

~ I mentioned the others who shared our March 1st birthday in my last post like this, and now it’s your turn to shine (and yes, I said that because of your cosmic last name). We have yet to exchange very many letters, but I’m sure we will get there one day. And if the boys and I ever get the lab puppy we’re wanting, you can bet my letters will include questions, stories, and maybe even pictures.

~ You, or at least one of your characters, were one of the first people to write me since my induction to The League of Extraordinary Pen Pals. At no fault of yours we hit a few bumps like when my character lost interest in continuing writing, but you were more than willing to try writing me as yourself, and we found an awesome way to still incorporate your characters with my love of asking questions. Thanks for sticking it out!

~ Like the previous person, you were among the first LEP members to write Wonder Katerz, and for that alone I’m grateful! I really enjoy seeing the art that has come my way whether it’s your contribution to a dossier, a page for my deconstructed deco book, or the envelopes you send things like the above in. You truly are a crafty maven and I think we should try more collaborations in the future 🙂

~ Last, but certainly not least, is someone who started off as a nerdy acquaintance here on wordpress who evolved into a genuine friend. I don’t know if you ever considered pen palling prior to finding this blog, but knowing that you thought highly enough of me that you wanted us to send each other mail is still very flattering. I can’t see things like dinosaurs or Hello Kitty without thinking of you and considering how well things would ship, and I also can’t help but think how I’d love to meet you and show you these things for yourself. Or we could just watch Supernatural— I’m not picky!

Well pen pals, it has been awesome exchanging letters with you regardless of how long it has been, and I hope to be thanking all of you again in the years to come. Without you, this would not be a favorite hobby of mine and I doubt I would have an outlet that does for me what anti-depressants have accomplished in the past. I may have only met a couple of you in person, but I still consider you all true friends and wish you nothing but the best. Happy pen palling, and Happy Thanksgiving, too.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

3 Responses to “Thank You Notes ’14- Part 3”

  1. nerdinthebrain 11/25/2014 at 8:37 am #

    Teehee….every time I’m in a store, I look for gnome stuff now. Every. Time. 😀

    • Sincerely Kate 11/25/2014 at 9:39 am #

      I was proud of myself the other day– I went into a store that sells all sorts of gnomes and only left with $8 less than what I went in there with.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thank You Notes: Manolo | Sincerely Kate - 11/20/2015

    […] funny. The last time I did one of these Thank You Notes post, I said “You truly are a crafty maven and I think we should try more collaborations in […]

Leave a Reply

