My Fourth Not-so-Mad Tea Party

24 Nov

Not to beat any dead horses, but these posts are this Alice in Wonderland lover’s take on the “If we were having coffee” posts, just like here, here, and here.

First and foremost, Happy Thanksgiving! On Thursday afternoon the boys and I will be having turkey and the fixings over at my in-laws’, us with a cornbread dish in tow. No, we won’t be shopping afterwards or the following day. I went with my friend Krista one year and decided never again. Nothing she got, in my opinion, was worth the early hours, long lines, and rude people. This Thanksgiving, just like the last four, I’ll be thankful for all the extra time I’ll get with both my favorite guys in the comfort of our home.

I’m not sure when we’ll start decorating for Christmas. It used to be something we held off doing until the Sunday before Christmas, but now that we don’t have to worry about Gabe’s cat trying to eat it and knocking it over, we could really put it up any time in December. We still have some shopping to do yet, but the bulk of our Christmas presents have been purchased and I almost got some Frozen wrapping paper while I was grocery shopping yesterday. Before you get envious of how much I seem to have accomplished, we actually don’t buy gifts for many people. Pictures and Logan’s artwork seem to make our relatives joyful enough.

Speaking of relatives, back on the 2nd my maternal grandparents threw a party in honor of their 60th wedding anniversary, and almost all of my family was there. I loved being able to see everyone, especially my brother Erik and his wife who came up from Florida, but the crowd seemed to be too much for the Loganator. Fortunately my youngest cousins were able to get him to play, and later on he was much more social towards his aunts and uncles than when the festivities first began. Afterwards we went to my grandparents’ so Logan could spend some more time with them, Erik and Mindy, and my cousin Joey (and his mom).

Things actually haven’t been too eventful since that weekend, but I still haven’t found the time, or more accurately motivation, to do more than write letters. I have yet to do a single Vari-Kate-ion this month and the only time I even attempted to read was when Logan and I rode with his daddy as he hauled sugar beets. I blame the “catastrophe” for this melancholia for the most part, but I keep thinking any day now I will genuinely want to do these things… especially now that I ran out of Gilmore Girls to watch šŸ˜› Oh! You know what’sĀ  an awesome show? How to Get Away With Murder. The wait until it comes back in 2015 is going to be excruciating! I want to see the aftermath from “murder night,” dang nabbit!

I know I’ve vaguely mentioned the cat thing a couple times already, but I suppose a little update is warranted. My cat has still been really friendly towards me and Logan, but he still knows it’s best to stay away from Gabe. Gabe and I looked at grave markers the other day, but everything just seemed so gaudy– all we were really interested in was finding a decorative stone. Gabe doesn’t want to keep looking though, so I’m not going to force it.

Oh, quick story that you probably have to know me (and my brothers) as kids to appreciate, but the other day when Logan was at his grandparents’ they ordered pizza per his request. Logan would NOT touch it because it didn’t have black olives on it, something we recently started getting on our pizza here once we realized he liked them. They got some black olives, dumped them on top of it, and Logan then ate it and not just the olives on top. That’s my kid, all right šŸ˜›

Well, I should get going– I have another blog post to work on tomorrow featuring 7 more pen pals I’m incredibly thankful for. Until then!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

Leave a Reply

