A Scrapbook on Steroids: A Fifth Dose

20 Nov

Hey guys, I thought I’d show you the most recent pages from my smashbook before ending this series FOREVER. Don’t worry, this likely won’t be the last time you see this book of mine, it just won’t continue to happen every other month. I want to be able to add to this when I’m feeling inspired, and not just because I have a deadline approaching. Not that I’m not happy with what was produced due to the latter 😛

Tis the season for a lot of catalogs! In two of them I found some postal-friendly things and couldn't help dog-earing the pages even though I didn't necessarily want anything. I decided that my smashbook would be a good place to showcase 'em. I also showcased some postcards from Ann, but more about those in the next pic!

Tis the season for a lot of catalogs! In two of them I found some postal-friendly things and couldn’t help dog-earing the pages even though I didn’t necessarily want anything. I decided that my smashbook would be a good place to showcase ’em. I also showcased some postcards from Ann, but more about those in the next pic!

Much like I've done with the ones from my postcard pen pal, I wanted to put my postcards from Annin the book in a way I could still see the backs as well as the fronts. I absolutely love the owl card-- I almost hated to cover it up!

Much like I’ve done with the first four from my postcard pen pal, I wanted to put my postcards from Ann in the book in a way I could still see the backs as well as the fronts. I absolutely love the owl card– I almost hated to cover it up!

Speaking of my postcard pen pal, I got too many from Friday to keep up with them all so I decided to utilize the pocket you see on the right. The left page also could use some contributions yet, but I already like it bunches.

Speaking of my postcard pen pal, I got too many from Frida to keep up with them all so I decided to utilize the pocket you see on the right. The left page also could use some contributions yet, but I already like it bunches.

My smashbook gained some weight this time around because I decided to include the zine I was featured in and a mini art journal a LEP member was nice enough to send me.

My smashbook gained some weight this time around because I decided to include the zine I was featured in and a mini art journal a LEP member was nice enough to send me.

I’m not sure when I will work on this smashbook next, though I certainly have some things that could get smashed in there yet and am constantly looking for more– another plus to getting a P.O. Box soon, I guess! I appreciate all the support and positive comments these posts have resulted in, and I will try to make sure no one, especially myself, goes through any withdrawals without these bi-monthly fixes, hehe.

All the best,
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

 

4 Responses to “A Scrapbook on Steroids: A Fifth Dose”

  1. Mema 11/20/2014 at 2:59 pm #

    This makes me smile! I agree that inspiration is a much better motivation than “oh-crap-I-gotta-have-something-to-post-for-the-next-deadline-and-oh-crap”! I feel the same way about my blog posts because as an artist that believes in producing MINDFUL, creative, innovative, and mutually satisfying hand-made masterpieces, I know that all of that doesn’t happen overnight. I also know that although people demand more more more, they also want to know that you didn’t take shortcuts, make something ordinary or mass-produced. They want a unique work of art…which takes time.
    So goody-for-you that you managed to accept and live within your personally set limitations to allow your creativity to THRIVE! Bully for you! Bully, I say!!

    • Sincerely Kate 11/20/2014 at 4:35 pm #

      I don’t believe anyone has ever wished me bullies before so thank you for that! And also thanks for what you said. I do love having a blog schedule and planning things, but there are just some aspects of the process that just need to be done when the moment happens and not because there is a hypothetical moment in mind.

  2. nocturnalmistakes 11/21/2014 at 11:04 am #

    I absolutely love your scrapbook! It is so magical to get to peak into it, and of course I adore that I’m part of it 😀 Happy scrapping!

    • Sincerely Kate 11/21/2014 at 7:25 pm #

      Thank you, both for your comment and your contribution! The whole thing was a “lightbulb” experience– I wanted to get a smashbook the moment I saw one, and I receive all these little odds and ends via pen palling that needed somewhere to go so BAM! 😀

Leave a Reply

