A Marathon Not a Sprint

10 Nov

Though it’s rare for me to finish a single letter in one sitting, I am constantly finding time to write. It is how I get my “me” time. It is how I get to hang out with friends. It is how I can express myself. It is how I like to vent. That all said, I would have spent my weekend writing letters whether the LEP had a letter writing marathon or not. What’s a letter writing marathon? It’s a designated time where participants will write as much as they’re able, sharing their progress as they go and providing encouragement along the way.

So what was I working on this weekend? My responses to two of the three letters I received towards the end of last week thanks to Justine, S’Moore, and Allison. I have yet to make a dent on my letter to Allison so I’m not going to use too many more words here, but instead implement some random visual aides.

Aide #1

DSCF7532

These are a representation of the note cards (and coinciding envelopes) I have used to start each of my letters. For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been using a combination of these and notebook paper in an attempt to use up a bunch of partially-used notebooks.

Aide #2

DSCF7534

This is the notebook I’m currently utilizing– two have come before it. Four of its pages were used for Justine’s letter, and two for S’Moore’s. That might not have been the case had this notebook been college-ruled, but all the more reason this beat-up wide-ruled one needs to go.

Aide #3

DSCF7528

I like my stash of stamps– Janis Joplin, Celebrity Chefs, Farmers’ Market, etc., etc. Though being well stocked seems to be a bit of a jynx (I’ve gotten less than 10 letters in the past couple weeks), it’s awesome to be able to pick out a stamp that goes with the contents of the letter. The clown one, for example, is used for the letter where I spoke of American Horror Story: Freakshow, and Batman was used since that pen pal’s son was another Superhero for Halloween.

Well, it’s about time I get back to the marathon that is Allison’s letter. Have a great week!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

 

4 Responses to “A Marathon Not a Sprint”

  1. nerdinthebrain 11/10/2014 at 8:10 am #

    I love the superhero stamp! Are those available now?

  2. Aussa Lorens 11/10/2014 at 1:01 pm #

    Aaaand you just reminded me that I have a card in my bag that needs to be mailed! WHEW!

Leave a Reply

