Thank You Notes ’14- Part 1

5 Nov

Normally it’s closer to Thanksgiving when I do my annual post where I tell my pen pals why I’m thankful for them, but this year I decided to turn it into a mini-series, with the 2nd and 3rd parts to follow on the 15th and 25th of this month. For the record, all of the paragraphs will be regarding pen pals I currently have exchanges with, though one-time swaps and similar things don’t count. Oh, and I also don’t use names because my intention is that I do each pen pal enough justice that they know which paragraph is about them.

~ I was not interested in any more pen pals when you joined the LEP, but when I saw that you not only attended a nearby university but were a psychology major, I couldn’t not take you on. I was soon completely hooked when I saw how quickly you responded, and though your schedule’s keeping you too busy to write right now, I’m still hooked and look forward to the day we can meet up again, cupcakes optional.

~ I’m not sure if you’ll see this as we have not been writing very long, but I really appreciate the fact that you were up for becoming unconventional pen pals where we focus more on what we make than what we write. You incorporated confetti onto your envelope and an Alice in Wonderland quote in the contents which makes you the ideal person for me to do such an experiment with. I can’t wait to get your next creations, and everything after, of course.

~ I can’t help but feel if you and I lived in the same city, you and I would hang out regularly– lunches at Chipotle, talking books and TV shows at cafes, gossiping about anyone and everyone over drinks, etc. etc. If we get along so well on paper, I can only imagine how much we’d get along in person. I know how busy you are between your husband, your job, even dog fostering, so I’m so thankful you’re able to write me as often as you do. And I still love that you make a list of what you want to tell me on the envelopes from my letters.

~ To be honest, I don’t feel like we’re as close as we used to be. I don’t blame you for that; I think if I was recently married and about to lose my job I wouldn’t be feeling all that normal either. Always know though, that you can talk to me about anything and everything. We’ve been writing for too long for me to lose interest just because you’re riding an exceptionally big roller coaster in the amusement park that is life. I wish you the best of luck with everything, and look forward to the day where you’re sending festive cards for more holidays than just Christmas again.

~ First of all, congratulations on your recent marriage! Though to me it feels like you and yours have already been married for quite some time considering how long you’ve been together. And how many babies you have, even if those babies all have four legs. It was so fun reading about your wedding plans, both on your blog and in your sporadic letters, and I’m so incredibly flattered that you invited me and Gabe– I wish we could have gone! Not going to lie, I’ve been imagining the next letter you send will be so thick that the most you’ll be able to fold it is once. Your letters may not come incredibly often, but you make sure that I’m caught up entirely on what you’ve been up to since you were able to write me last. I look forward to the day where us meeting, whenever the heck that is, can be among your bullet points.

Though this is merely the first batch of these paragraphs, I am truly thankful to everyone (besides bill collectors and the like) who takes the time to send me mail. And to those who have stumbled onto this blog of mine and have taken the time to read about this hobby of mine. All the best!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

One Response to “Thank You Notes ’14- Part 1”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thank You Notes ’14- Part 2 | Sincerely Kate - 11/15/2014

    […] is the 2nd installment of this month’s mini-series. Missed the first one? You can find it here, but all you really need to know is that I’m telling my current batch of pen pals why […]

Leave a Reply

