My Third Not-so-Mad Tea Party

27 Oct

As explained at my original tea party, these posts are my take on the “if we were having coffee” posts that have been seen around the blogasphere. Thanks for joining me yet again!

My post last Monday was almost called “The Book of Gone Boxtroll Girls,” haha. I have been to the movies three times within the past month, which is more than I’ve been within the past year. If the mash-up title isn’t enough of an indication, Gabe and I saw Gone Girl, The Book of Life, and The Boxtrolls— Logan joined us for that last one. I enjoyed all three movies and have every intention of adding them to our collection one day. Gone Girl was rather loyal to the book which is always a positive, especially considering how much I liked said book. Gabe may only be a quarter Hispanic, but that guy loves all things “day of the dead” and The Book of Life was no exception. The story itself was a bit on the predictable side, but it was so well done I didn’t even mind. I love the colors, the random quotes, and the incorporation of music like a cover of “Creep” by Radiohead. As for The Boxtrolls, the boys and I saw that on a whim in honor of Sweetest Day. It was a cute movie (despite the drag queen 😉 ) and I can see us watching it rather regularly around here as there’s something for everyone.

Speaking of Sweetest Day, I woke up last Saturday not expecting anything, but then Gabe came home from early with flowers and goodies for me and a toy for Logan since he knew he couldn’t leave the little guy out. He totally called it– as Gabe was pulling out a notebook for me Logan said “What you bring me?” It turned out to be a pretty sweet day.

DSCF7438

This past Friday was also pretty awesome. My friend Anna and I went to see a live performance of Rocky Horror and we had such a good time. We used props, yelled, and sang along to the songs we’ve been singing along to since we were high school freshmen. The only thing either of us would have changed was Riff Raff– the guy wasn’t a bad actor, but he can’t sing to save his life so it was a good thing he had few singing parts. Should this become an annual event Logan and I would gladly go again.

I have other plans for this Friday as it’s Halloween. My brother Erik and his wife are going to be in Michigan this weekend for our grandparents’ 60th anniversary party, so we made some plans with them during the time they were free. The Children’s Museum is having all sorts of festive stuff going on like a maze game and face painting so we’re going to go there with the Loganator and hopefully be home in time for trick-or-treating.

But that’s not all we’ve done for Halloween! Yesterday Gabe and I took Logan to both the Children’s Zoo and our favorite pumpkin farm. The former had what they call a “Zoo Boo” so kids were encouraged to wear costumes and get candy from several different booths. Logan didn’t care too much about the candy, but he still had fun wandering around and taking a train ride. Same goes for the pumpkin farm. Not long after we came home we carved the pumpkin Logan picked out, but instead of rambling on I’ll just show you some pictures…

The last bit of exciting news I have is that my brother Doug’s getting married! In just a little less than a year he and Jessica will be tying the knot in Florida, with a reception to follow at Disneyworld. So excited, both for them and to go. I am a bit worried that Gabe won’t be able to come since beet season is a horrible time to ask for time off, nor does our bank account want to take the hit, but we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it. In the meantime we have some saving up to do because of course Logan and I want to go to the Magic Kingdom since we’ll literally be in the neighborhood.

Well, thanks for joining me, but I really must be going. Until next time!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

6 Responses to “My Third Not-so-Mad Tea Party”

  1. nerdinthebrain 10/27/2014 at 9:09 am #

    Oh, I love Rocky Horror! I used to go every single weekend when I was a teenager…a theater in Raleigh played the movie and had actors on stage…it was a strange mish-mash, but it was awesome. 😀

    The pumpkin patch looks like so much fun! And your weekend plans sound like fun, too. 😀 I hope everything works out for (all of you) going to visit the mouse while in Florida. 😀

    • Sincerely Kate 10/27/2014 at 10:09 am #

      I love Rocky Horror, too! When I visited my very first pen pal back in the day we went to a showing of RHPS where there was a shadow cast and it was so incredibly awesome! There’s a theater not too far from here that used to show the movie every Halloween, but it’s been a few years since they’ve done that. Fortunately, a small little theatre decided they’d put on the stage show! Quite possibly the highlight of my Halloween thus far 😀

  2. cupitonians 10/29/2014 at 12:54 am #

    I haven’t watched Rocky Horror. I don’t know if it’s a thing in India but the number of people who talk about it, I feel like I’m missing out. Logan looks like he’s really enjoyed the pumpkin patch. Such a cutie! Can’t wait to read something more about your trip to Florida!

    • Sincerely Kate 10/29/2014 at 7:52 am #

      You might not have the showings in India, but I’m sure you could get your hands on the movie! 😀

      • cupitonians 10/30/2014 at 7:31 am #

        I know what I’m doing for Halloween!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Fourth Not-so-Mad Tea Party | Sincerely Kate - 11/24/2014

    […] Not to beat any dead horses, but these posts are this Alice in Wonderland lover’s take on the “If we were having coffee” posts, just like here, here, and here. […]

Leave a Reply

