A Post About Post

20 Oct

As of today I’m just two postcards away from a “200 Postcards and Counting” post and only one away from “Postcards from Wonderland #4” so I have had postcards on the brain. My dad sent me a bunch of postcards upon his return to California and I just ordered a few from this awesome artist after a pen friend sent me one of Sandra Vargas’ owl postcards. I showed my mom that link and she was not surprised that I’m infatuated.

Feel free to click the pic! :-D

Feel free to click the pic! 😀

Though March is several months from now, I find myself preparing for the next March of Postcards and Othella has been nice enough to indulge me. We seem to have come to the decision that in addition to picking out postcards for each other we’re going to send each other the postcards we love too much to use (in envelopes) so that we can each get our favorites back. I’m very excited about this idea and look forward to seeing some postcards I love return to me.

As excited as I am about all this upcoming post, I was recently reminded of two of my pet peeves when it comes to postcrossing. The first thing is when users don’t give a wishlist, let alone any information about themselves. I like to try to pick postcards I think people would like so when there’s nothing to go off of I find myself choosing the ones I like the least just to be rid of them. My other pet peeve is when people want you to send their postcard in an envelope. Not only do I find that defeats the purpose of a postcard because the stamp and potential wear and tear is part of its charm, but I also find it a bit tacky since, at least in my experience, those users usually ask for people to enclose things, and that thing is usually a “sample” of currency  from their country. Though maybe I’m just a wet blanket. I still enjoy postcrossing though despite those grievances, if you can even call them that.

Not to count my eggs before they hatch, but it’s really sounding like I’ll be getting a P.O. Box on or around Christmas– AHH! I’m going to love having two different mailboxes, for a lot of the reasons I mentioned here. The first thing I’m going to do is put the box address up in the League of Extraordinary Pen Pals’ database, the second thing is switch addresses on my postcrossing profile, and the third thing is provide the new address here on Sincerely Kate. I may have already picked out the address labels I want to use, hehe.

Hope you have a great week, and that my fellow mail lovers get some great stuff this week 😀

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

4 Responses to “A Post About Post”

  1. NotAPunkRocker 10/20/2014 at 10:19 am #

    Owl postcards? 🙂 Love!

    (how is your mom? I haven’t seen her lately, tell her I said “hi”)

    • Sincerely Kate 10/20/2014 at 10:25 am #

      She has been good, a bit overwhelmed with work stuff so blogging and whatnot has gone on the back burner. At least for now.

      But enough about her and more about owls! If you go to her etsy page and search “owls” you’ll find she has more than just postcards available. Definitely investigate!

  2. nerdinthebrain 10/20/2014 at 11:40 am #

    Congrats on the PO box! 😀

    I’m with you on the postcard in an envelope thing. I usually just don’t do it, and they can be mad at me or whatever. 😉

    • Sincerely Kate 10/20/2014 at 11:57 am #

      That’s my logic, too! I even told the “recent offender” on his postcard I wanted my postcard to *show* it’s travels. If he wants pristine postcards than he should just buy some 😛

Leave a Reply

