The Back Attack

25 Sep

Not going to lie, this post is going to be a bit half-assed. My focus this week has been on my dad as I rarely get to see him. I’ve made the guy proud on several occasions, like when I made chocolate chip/ M&M cookies from scratch and when he saw how clean the back room was compared to his visit last year. Unfortunately I have no “before” pictures for you– I’m way too ashamed of how it looked before– but here is the room where most of my pen pal-friendly supplies are stored.

DSCF7338

One day the wall with the window will be a much nicer color, even if that’s just white. Something that will never change: that the bulk of my stationery is in the bottom left drawer where my file folders hang.

DSCF7339

Ignore the diaper box; that has books that will be donated. As for the bookshelf, that has all sorts of books, movies, and CDs of mine, as well as a few binders full of letters. The rolling drawer contraption is definitely reserved for my pen palling hobby, holding everything from envelopes to blank labels– stuff that would go everywhere if not reigned in somewhere. My postcard stash almost fits on top.

DSCF7340

In addition to the bulky wedding dress and just as bulky computer monitor, there’s some fun stuff in this closet. Towards the tip top of the picture are blank note cards, colored printer paper, my confetti container, padded envelopes, and two stuffed toys I can’t bear to part with. The shelf in the middle holds containers that hold manila envelopes and things like glue and crayons. Then on the floor there are five binders to the left of those totes– my letters are in those! The bottom tote has the bulk of my craft supplies (scrapbook paper, hot glue gun, etc.) and the top one mainly has notebooks.

In addition to painting, I also have high hopes to put a huge collage on one of the walls using some fun artwork I’ve made and received over the years, but for now I like this room quite a bit. Will I actually write letters back there? Probably not. Will I make sure it stays in a state where both my dad and I can be proud of it? Absotively posilutely.

All the best!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

3 Responses to “The Back Attack”

  1. nerdinthebrain 09/25/2014 at 9:33 am #

    It looks great! There are not many things in the world more awesome than a freshly organized room. 😀 What color are you thinking of for painting? (I like the red!)

    • Sincerely Kate 09/25/2014 at 1:49 pm #

      The wall is more of a muddy red color– not so cute in person, especially when the other walls were left white. I don’t have a color in mind, really. All I know is that once the cats are gone that room will be transformed!

      • nerdinthebrain 09/26/2014 at 2:50 pm #

        Can’t wait to see the transformation! (Though I, of course, wish no harm to the cats!)

Leave a Reply

