It Comes with Love from Me to You

10 Sep

It was exactly two years ago that I put up my first blog post here on Sincerely Kate. PHEW! I would have thought my interest in this would have fizzled out some time ago, but I’m still here and already have a bunch of ideas as we enter into my 3rd year of blogging. For now though, let’s talk about my ideas for celebrating today!

Idea #1: A Giveaway!

I seem to have wound up with two copies of the book Flat Stanley and am willing to give one to one of my faithful bleaders, likely with some other flat things enclosed. How can you sign up? Simply leave a comment on this blog entry telling me about your favorite post here over the past two years. It doesn’t matter where you live or if you only found this blog recently. If you’d like my second copy of Flat Stanley, I’d like to help make that happen! You have until Sunday (the 14th) to enter, and on Monday morning I will announce the winner of this little raffle. Note: If you’d just like to comment but aren’t interested in receiving the book, please mention that while you’re typing your little love note, please!

Idea #2: Flat Kate!

You know that Stanley kid from above? He was a normal little boy until a huge bulletin board landed on him in bed resulting in him being so flat he could be mailed. I have no intention of becoming flatter than a pancake, but I still wanted to make a version of myself I could send to six of my pen pals. Why six? Because that’s how many of the things I could get onto two pieces of paper. Why were there two sheets? Because it’s my 2nd blogiversary and I am a dork. I didn’t color Flat Kate (any of them) because I thought my pen pals would enjoy doing that… and that I’d enjoy seeing how they made me over.

Othella received her Flat Kate in person– The 31st and 1st on the calendar were very significant for Othella and the not-so-flat Kate 🙂

Kate via Othella

Two others were also sent to their new homes as even my flat self tries to make letters worth their postage 😉 Jody’s Flat Kate is modeling next to one of the letters I have written her.

Kate via Jody

These three will be on their way to their owners today. I hope they have as much fun with her as I have coming up with this little idea!

DSCF7288

You better believe I’m hoping that more of my mini alter-ego(s) will have adventures to share here during our third year! Even if (*knock on wood*) she doesn’t, I think this upcoming year of blog posts is going to be such a fun one. If there are pen pal-friendly posts you’d like to see here I’d like to hear your suggestions. Thanks to all of the bleaders who have made the past two years such a rewarding experience for me!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

17 Responses to “It Comes with Love from Me to You”

  1. Kyleigh 09/10/2014 at 1:02 pm #

    My personal favorite post was the one about our meetup. I liked hearing what the experience was like through your eyes. c: Congrats on two years!!

  2. nerdinthebrain 09/10/2014 at 5:37 pm #

    Happy Blogiversary!!! 😀 The Flat Kates are adorable!

    • Sincerely Kate 09/10/2014 at 7:18 pm #

      Thanks– one’s coming to you 😉

      • nerdinthebrain 09/10/2014 at 9:47 pm #

        Yay!!! 😀

        Did you get anything fierce in the mail yet, by any chance??? 🙂

      • Sincerely Kate 09/11/2014 at 7:29 am #

        Not yet, but I’ve been keeping a look out for it!

      • nerdinthebrain 09/11/2014 at 8:56 am #

        Argh! It should beeeee there by now. I’m sure it will arrive this day. 🙂

  3. NotAPunkRocker 09/10/2014 at 9:43 pm #

    Alright, another 2=fer! There are a lot of us in the 2 to 3 year category this time of year. Interesting, right?

    Happy Bloggity Birthday!

    • Sincerely Kate 09/11/2014 at 7:31 am #

      Ha, I Didn’t really notice until you said something, but you’re right. Even a friend of mine just started a new one.

  4. Othella 09/13/2014 at 3:23 pm #

    I’m with Kyleigh, the one about our meet up rocks!!

  5. Nicole Reid 09/17/2014 at 9:26 pm #

    Aww, those are so cool, Kate. Totally awesome! 🙂
    It’s a great way to travel, being in the post.

    • Sincerely Kate 09/18/2014 at 7:24 am #

      Not to mention all the money you’d save! Just need to pack several flat snacks 😉

  6. casualtravelers 10/26/2014 at 9:52 pm #

    Happy blogversary! What an interesting idea! Have you received any photos or other replies about your Flat Kates’ adventures with your pen pals yet?

    • Sincerely Kate 10/27/2014 at 6:37 am #

      I received a few, though nothing too exciting. One of these posts I’ll try to incorporate an update, though!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crossing T’s and Dotting I’s | Sincerely Kate - 09/15/2014

    […] first order of business is to announce the winner of my little giveaway, though is it really a win if you’re the only one to play along? Regardless, my 2nd copy of […]

  2. If We Were Having Coffee… | Nerd in the Brain - 09/19/2014

    […] I’m also planning to get pictures of Flat Kate (she’s like Flat Stanley, but from my pen pal, Kate) on her first adventure. Annnd I’ll be leaving some NEDs along the way. […]

  3. Flat Stanley's Visit to Garden in the Woods, in Framingham, MA | Casual Travelers - 10/26/2014

    […] writer sent out little drawings of herself to her pen pals all over the world – read “It Comes with Love from Me to  You” by Sincerely […]

Leave a Reply

