The Thellie Kitty and the MI LEP Meet-Up

5 Sep

Prior to this weekend I have only met two pen pals, but I have now met 4, and I met 3 other letter writers I have every intention of writing myself now, too. 🙂

How did this all happen? Well, it all started not even two months ago when it was decided that Othella would be coming to Michigan from Oklahoma to visit family and friends. We knew immediately we wanted to meet each other since we have bonded bunches over the past 7 months, and that soon evolved into her not only spending the night here, but us cohosting a meet-up for all the Michigan members in the League of Extraordinary Pen Pals.

Amethyst, Othella’s friend from Muskegon, MI who moved to Colorado, wound up joining her on her trip and it was a little after 8pm on Sunday that the two of them pulled into my driveway. In my head I pictured us sitting at the table writing letters or making envelopes or SOMETHING, but we were just so caught up talking we never left the living room– even Gabe joined us for a while. Staying up until 3am probably wasn’t the best idea because A) the only crafting we got in were the souvenirs we wanted to make for the meet-up and B) we showed up at the restaurant a bit late– whoops!

Not going to lie, the meet-up was a bit awkward at first. When you stick a group of people who are more comfortable writing letters than speaking out loud at a table, it’s not surprising that socializing felt a bit uncomfortable. Fortunately Amelia’s extroverted boyfriend, Kevin, tagged along and served as our social catalyst, getting us talking more and encouraging us to play the “in bed” game with our fortune cookies (e.g. “You have an appreciation for music and arts… in bed.”). After we were done eating our Chinese food, we wrote to two women in Canada– the fearless leaders of the LEP. I gathered all of our letters upon their completion to be shoved in an envelope and sent their way.

And then we were on our way to The RiverPlace for some window shopping. Well, mostly window shopping. In an outdoor mall full of novelty shops a couple purchases are inevitable. While I loved stumbling upon buried treasure with all the members, I also was happy to get a bit of one-on-one time with Kyleigh. Prior to the meet-up she was the one person besides Othella I exchanged letters with so I was glad I had the opportunity to give her some undivided attention… and introduce her to SugarHigh Bakery. Once the group was back together we split up again… to head to Tim Horton’s.

I always imagined sitting down in a coffee shop with a pen pal and writing together over drinks. I was not disappointed. Granted we didn’t actually write letters in a comfortable silence, but “wrecking” postcards and filling out yearbook sheets for each other over laughs was still right up my alley, and something I’d gladly do again.

retired

In addition to me deciding that Amelia and Brittney deserve intro letters, the general consensus of the group has been that we should do this again. I’m already thinking about potential meet-ups at Johnson’s Pumpkin Farm &/or Painterly Pottery. I’d like to thank Amelia, Amethyst, Andronic, Brittney, and Kyleigh for coming and Othella for being the cause this time around– hopefully when some or all of us meet again Cassie and Jasmine, the other two Michigan members, can join us! And thanks to all of the above for proving why it’s the League of Extraordinary Pen Pals.

804468_10202967704862756_1188443025_n

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

8 Responses to “The Thellie Kitty and the MI LEP Meet-Up”

  1. Super Sushi 09/05/2014 at 9:14 am #

    Yay for another successful LEP meetup! And you wrote us?! Even better! 😀

    • Sincerely Kate 09/05/2014 at 9:46 am #

      I thought about leaving that out so you’d be surprised, but this just makes it so the anticipation builds, hehe.

  2. Allison 09/05/2014 at 9:30 am #

    Awesome. 🙂

  3. nerdinthebrain 09/05/2014 at 8:30 pm #

    It looks like y’all had so much fun! 😀 I’m so glad everyone had such a good time!

    Speaking of pen pals, I’ve had a letter ready for you for days! I finally remembered today to mail the thing, but when I went to put it in the mailbox, it was just as the mailman was zooming away. *sigh* Then Grace and I headed out on a field trip, and I nearly kicked myself in the shins when I saw that we were walking *right past* the post office…but did I have your letter with me? Nooooo. (Though it did give Grace a giggle to listen to those grumbles.) It will be mailed tomorrow, I promise! (I thought about putting it out for the mailman tonight, but it’s supposed to rain, and that makes the paper get all soggy…no one wants that.) 😉

    • Sincerely Kate 09/05/2014 at 9:16 pm #

      Hehe, it will get here when it’s meant to, I guess! 😀 At least Grace got a kick out of the endeavor… or lack of one 😛

  4. Deborah 09/06/2014 at 6:20 am #

    Looks like great fun was had by all! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It Comes with Love from Me to You | Sincerely Kate - 09/10/2014

    […] received her Flat Kate in person– The 31st and 1st on the calendar were very significant for Othella and the not-so-flat Kate […]

  2. My Fifth Not-so-Mad Tea Party | Sincerely Kate - 12/22/2014

    […] we’ll be seeing my grandparents this weekend. It’s quite possible I’ll also see Othella again– *fingers crossed* As far as New Year’s Eve goes, we have yet to make plans and I […]

Leave a Reply

