Birthday Triplets

30 Aug

When I became a member of the League of Extraordinary Pen Pals earlier this year I didn’t go in hoping for a bunch of new pen pals. I wanted three people: someone who responds about as quickly as I do, someone interested in exchanging postcards, and someone who shares my March 1st birthday. The first two came easily, but it wasn’t until recently that I found my birthday twin. Actually, I found my fellow birthday triplets, Sarah from Arkansas and Hannah from England. With our half birthday a few days away I thought now would be a great opportunity to introduce you to them a bit 😀

10647661_10203738598838298_526694486_nMeet Sarah, AKA S’moore! 

How old were you when you decided to get into pen palling?

40!

What’s something you want to accomplish by March 1st?

Losing some weight, as boring and predictable as it sounds. I’ve been really good about going to the gym for about six months now, and I’m still not seeing much in the way of results. (I think that just happens when you turn 40.) Anyway, I’m hoping to see some progress by the time I turn 41.

Were you excited to hear a fellow LEP member (two actually) shared your birthday?

Yes indeed! And I’ve already exchanged letters with both of them.

Have you ever celebrated a half birthday?

Nope.

What birthday stands out for you and why?

I’ve had a lot of good ones, but there’s not one that stands out in particular. I usually try to take the day off work and spend the day doing exactly what I want. It usually involves getting a massage.

What was the best birthday gift you ever received as a kid?

The Mongoose dirt bike my dad got for me at a pawn shop in Texas.

What was the best birthday gift you ever received as an adult?

A DNA ancestry kit from The Genographic Project.

What’s something you already know you want for your next birthday?

A massage!

Meet Hannah (and Pepper and Chilli)!10515168_10201437680144031_4575029922136081387_o

How old were you when you decided to get into pen palling?

I have been writing to people since I was about 8. I wrote a letter to a penpal section of a magazine and my parents had no idea that I had done so until I started to get letters from all over the UK! by the time I was 12 or 13 my dad used to joke that he had to go to work just to pay my postage bill as I got more and more global penpals.

What’s something you want to accomplish by March 1st?

I want to study several courses related to dog training in October, November and January. These will involve written work that will probably run on until March time. I would also like to plan out my trick classes for next year and also work on a few new ideas for classes.

Were you excited to hear a fellow LEP member (two actually) shared your birthday?

I was aware of bday twins but years ago I never spotted someone with the same bday. I think having bday triplets is pretty cool – to see if there are similarities and to see the differences too.

Have you ever celebrated a half birthday?

Never celebrated a half birthday.

What birthday stands out for you and why?

I can remember a great bday spent with my now hubby when we first got together and we had a old fashioned photo Victorian photo done where you dress up in Victorian clothes. We had another done by the same photographer on our wedding day as I loved the first so much.

What was the best birthday gift you ever received as a kid?

I think the best present I ever had as a kid was my first bike. It was a present from my grandparents. It was most likely secondhand and my grandfather had probably done it up a bit, but I loved it. I can remember trying to teach myself to ride it because I could wait for anyone to teach me. I rode up and down the drive falling off then getting backing on again – repeated many times – until my knees were sore but I knew how to ride it!

What was the best birthday gift you ever received as an adult?

I don’t remember a specific present as an adult – I’m not really into presents in a big way – more little things and sharing experiences with other people.

What’s something you already know you want for your next birthday?

Next bday is the big 4-0! Still trying to think up something creative and fun for that! Planned to get another pup for that bday but am getting one in 2 weeks now so kind of preempted that one! ( may be the pup counts as a half bday present? !)

imageedit_3_7043639957Bonus! This Birthday Triplets answers:

How old were you when you decided to get into pen palling?

I was 18 when I officially got into pen palling, though prior to that send letters to my paternal grandmother as well as my Aunt Karin.

What’s something you want to accomplish by March 1st?

It’s in the fall of 2015 that we plan to put Logan in preschool and I’m planning to go back to school myself. I’d like to have everything I need to change my name (the school knows me by my maiden one) and apply for financial aid by March 1st, if possible, so I/we have several months to tackle that mountain.

Were you excited to hear a fellow LEP member (two actually) shared your birthday?

I think this blog is proof that I’m a happy camper.

Have you ever celebrated a half birthday?

Although I’ll be spending September 1st with Othella, Kyleigh, and some other League members, I never actually celebrated it before. Well, unless trying to score the occasional present out of my mom counts. I remember Titanic was released via VHS on 9/1 and I convinced her to get it for me 😛

What birthday stands out for you and why?

Gabe planned to propose on my 23rd birthday, but just like I couldn’t wait until the weekend after Alice in Wonderland was released to see it in theaters, he asked me to marry him several days before. Regardless of the timing, I still consider my 23rd birthday an incredibly happy one.

What was the best birthday gift you ever received as a kid?

My memory’s not the greatest as I keep thinking of Christmas presents instead of ones I was given when I was a little birthday girl. Perhaps my mom will recall something…

What was the best birthday gift you ever received as an adult?

Although my engagement ring is high up there, I’d actually rather do something than get anything. Gabe and I have gone pottery painting every year we’ve been together.

What’s something you already know you want for your next birthday?

In addition to going pottery painting, I’d also love a bunch of stamps– domestic, international, postcard-friendly… I promise they won’t be bought in vain!

Well, I hope you enjoyed hearing about me and my fellow birthday triplets, and that you have a very merry un-birthday, unless, of course, today is your actual birthday 😛

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

Leave a Reply

