Vari-Kate-ions: August

25 Aug

Each month I take a handful of themes from this list and use it for inspiration for a bit of novelty mail. Below are the ones I set out to do this month, but the ones in bold are the only ones that have been completed. The others will be tackled next month and hopefully come October my batteries will be recharged.

  • Fortitude
  • Vacation
  • Mother Nature
  • Cat
  • No Time
  • Trouble Lurking
  • Tears
  • Foreign

Yeah, I suck. Between dealing with stuff and preparing for company, these just haven’t been a priority this month. To be honest, I’m happy I got at least three accomplished.

007

Othella originally gave me an idea for Fortitude, but it didn’t quite work out so I scrapped it and made a magnet instead. I can’t think of having the mental/ emotional strength to persevere without also thinking of Carpe Diem. The quote on the bottom is from a Phineas & Ferb song by the name.

049The cool thing about Annie, my International Geek Girl Pen Pal, is that she uses the projects I send as inspiration for her own, especially if ATCs are involved.  In the spirit of Vacation I utilized both the bracelet from the trip to the Children’s Zoo and illustration from this year’s Bean Festival flyer, and I also threw in a scrap of popcorn paper I had leftover from making postcards– see? I haven’t been a complete sloth 😉 I’m looking forward to seeing what Annie is going to do with such a theme, and hearing what she thinks of this silly little card.

004

The upside to writing Allison for 9 years already is I know she’s not going to scare off now, haha. “No Time” seemed like one of those themes where something would likely be pulled out of my butt, so who better to use as my guinea pig? After our tarot reading she informed me she was sending me a letter that day, and that’s when it hit me: I could write her for exactly 60 seconds every day until her letter arrived. Once the timer went off each day I had to stop where I was. Because of how little I could write, this wasn’t all that exciting, but I filled in the gaps when I responded to her actual letter 🙂

There may only be three projects, but I’m pretty happy with them considering two of the themes were a bit tricky to work with. Speaking of, “Trouble Lurking” is on deck for September, so should you have an idea for me definitely let me know below. Take care, and best of luck with your own projects, crafts and otherwise!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

11 Responses to “Vari-Kate-ions: August”

  1. Deborah 08/25/2014 at 8:23 am #

    Interesting idea about the 60 seconds. 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 08/25/2014 at 9:24 am #

      It probably would have been cheating, but I should have typed instead.

      • Deborah 08/25/2014 at 9:53 am #

        or given yourself a little more time since you do it by hand. 😉

      • Sincerely Kate 08/25/2014 at 10:38 am #

        But the theme was “no time” so that was kind of the point.

      • Deborah 08/25/2014 at 10:41 am #

        True. There’s no arguing that one. 😉

  2. nerdinthebrain 08/25/2014 at 8:34 am #

    I love the 60 seconds per day letter! I bet that makes for an interesting variety of thoughts and topics. 😀

    • Sincerely Kate 08/25/2014 at 9:25 am #

      I picked up where I left off each day, so not much ground was covered. At least it didn’t feel that way.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Second Not-so-Mad Tea Party | Sincerely Kate - 09/22/2014

    […] had an epiphany regarding Vari-Kate-ions. Three out of the 5 projects I have put off doing since last month aren’t for pen pals but LEP members I feel like I owe something to. While I do still want to […]

  2. Vari-Kate-ions: September | Sincerely Kate - 09/30/2014

    […] you’re new or a regular here, you should know that I bit off a bit more than I could chew last month, and though I didn’t complete everything that I had yet to get around to, I did do three more […]

  3. Vari-Kate-ions: October | Sincerely Kate - 10/15/2014

    […] chose a bit symbolic now that I’m so deeply apologetic that I didn’t get around to this in August. It may not resemble tears at all if/when we finish, but I wouldn’t cry over that 😉 I […]

  4. Vari-Kate-ions: 37-40 | Sincerely Kate - 03/05/2015

    […] 20-21, 24 @ Vari-Kate-ions: August […]

Leave a Reply

