My Not-so-Mad Tea Party

18 Aug

I actually don’t care much for tea. Or coffee. What I do like? The “If we were having coffee” posts that have been popping up like coffee shops in the 90s. Nerd in the Brain does them as does my mother at Container Chronicles, and they got the idea from Part Time Monster. It’s my turn to tell you what I’d share if we were having coffee, or if you’re like me, something caramel flavored like a frappe.

The first thing I’d tell you is how excited I am for my pen pal Othella’s upcoming visit. Not only is she a caramel lover like me, she is from Michigan. Come Labor Day weekend she’s coming up from Oklahoma, with her best friend in tow, to visit friends and family up here and I am one of those friends! Othella and Amethyst, both fellow members of the League of Extraordinary Pen Pals, will be here sometime Sunday evening so we can do crafts and talk of many things. The following day we’re going to go to Frankenmuth where we’ll be meeting other Michigan members in the LEP, like my pen pal Kyleigh. More on this later, of course!

Speaking of pen pals, now seems like a good time to tell you that the majority of mine are interested in having their names as tags on this blog of mine. Sincerely Kate is going to be 2 in September so next month will be when I start tagging my pen pals, starting with Othella and Kyleigh for reasons I already mentioned.

With all the excitement going on, Vari-Kate-ions seem to have gone on the back burner; it’s August 18th and I have only done 3 out of the 8 I was hoping to accomplish this month. Originally I was going to put the project on hiatus until I got my groove back, but instead the game plan is to allow the few projects I don’t finish to roll into September without adding new ones to it and seeing if that helps.

I may not have done as many Vari-Kate-ions as I’d like, but I still have done some other mail art. Last week I was crazy enough to zentangle this envelope, but only the front. I’m no masochist.

zen

And it is because I’m no masochist, or anything of the sort, that I was in such a blah mood when we spoke last. I still don’t want to go into too many details, but what I will tell you is that Logan and doctors are involved. He has yet another appointment tomorrow where we’ll get a definitive answer so keep your fingers crossed, please!

I’m still getting used to Robin Williams being gone. Normally I don’t get too bummed out over celebrity deaths, but his has been an exception. I guess it’s because someone who has made me smile and laugh for as long as I can remember could no longer find a reason to do either himself anymore. I put everything of his available via Netflix streaming in our queue so Gabe and I could have a marathon of sorts. So far we have watched Jumanji, Hook, Popeye, and The Adventures of Baron Munchausen.

001Well, I think that’s all I have for you for now, but we’ll have to do this again sometime. Cheers!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

PS: This is my favorite mug (with hot chocolate and salted caramel syrup inside). My mom’s friend saw me admiring it at Barnes & Noble so she bought it for me. Sue, your purchase has not been in vain!

6 Responses to “My Not-so-Mad Tea Party”

  1. nerdinthebrain 08/18/2014 at 8:32 am #

    Awesome mug and envelope! 😀

    I do hope all is well with Logan. I’ll be thinking about him!

  2. Deborah 08/18/2014 at 9:32 am #

    If We Were Having Hot Chocolate! 😉

    Nice post! I like that you joined the fun! 🙂 And of course, I’m already thinking of you and Logan and Gabe. Good luck tomorrow!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. To Whom it May Concern | Sincerely Kate - 08/20/2014

    […] my blah mood last week and my brief paragraph regarding Logan’s potential health problem back on Monday I know I had some of you a bit worried. This pen paller decided to use the ever so popular […]

  2. My Second Not-so-Mad Tea Party | Sincerely Kate - 09/22/2014

    […] I said at my first tea party I’m not much of a tea drinker, but I am a fan of the “if we were having coffee” […]

  3. My Third Not-so-Mad Tea Party | Sincerely Kate - 10/27/2014

    […] explained at my original tea party, these posts are my take on the “if we were having coffee” posts that have been seen […]

  4. My Fourth Not-so-Mad Tea Party | Sincerely Kate - 11/24/2014

    […] in Wonderland lover’s take on the “If we were having coffee” posts, just like here, here, and […]

Leave a Reply

