Highs in July

30 Jul

One question I was asked by pen pals several times a few months back was “What are you looking forward to this summer?” and my response was always something about July. Not only is today my 4th anniversary, but this month had some other fun happenings, too. I just thought all of this month’s highs deserved to be highlighted.

The Fourth of July

My in-laws’ talked about taking Logan to see the fireworks on the 4th so to be a bit on the safe side we introduced Logan to sparklers and pop-its the night before after Gabe grilled up some yummy pork steaks– he loved them, not that we were surprised. Instead of taking Logan to the fireworks, his grandparents decided to bring the fireworks to him/them. I still think he liked the sparklers and pop-its best, but he enjoyed everything minus some of the noises.

Uncle Doug’s Visit

My brother Doug is a teacher in Florida so when the summer rolls around he comes up here to visit as a lot of his/our family is in Michigan. Two of the things Doug and I knew we wanted to do with the Loganator while he was in our chunk of the mitten were take him to the Children’s Zoo and the Children’s Museum. On his first day here we didn’t do either of those things as we watched Despicable Me 2 and played Logan’s version of baseball, but we went to the zoo the following day. The animals Logan liked best were the cows and alligators, but his favorite thing about the zoo was the train– he rode it 3 times! The following week Doug’s girlfriend, Jessica, was in Michigan so she joined us for our trip to the museum. Despite owning a dune-buggy that actually moves, he liked a “car” that doesn’t best, but other exhibits he enjoyed include the farm-to-table one and one where you use a crank to make balls fall from the top of a conveyer belt. I had to tell him when we were leaving that his dad and I would bring him back some day and he hasn’t let me forget. It would have been nice to see more of Uncka Doug, but at least we have these annual opportunities.

Christmas in July

031 I may have done a post about this before, but A) I didn’t get my gift from Justine in time to share a picture (shown right), and B) I have received other gifts of sorts that need to be acknowledged! Not only did my brother make arrangements for me to get a new computer, on Logan’s half-birthday (the 23RD) I found out that one of my favorite LEP members is coming to Michigan Labor Day weekend. Othella and I bonded quickly thanks to The March of Postcards so when she mentioned coming here on Sunday I was so incredibly excited! On Monday before she heads to Muskegon we will be co-hosting a LEP Meet Up for the Michigan members. Again, incredibly excited!

To be Rescheduled

There were three things I wanted to happen this month that didn’t, but with any luck there will be other opportunities. For starters, I want my photographer friend to come for her annual shoot with us, the sooner the better, and I hope Gabe and I will have the opportunity to take Logan to see Planes: Fire & Rescue while it’s still in theaters. The third thing I was hoping would happen was heading to the Ann Arbor area with Doug as it’s near Toledo. Why did I want to go to Toledo? To meet my pen pal Kära, of course! Doug had too much on his plate while he was in Michigan so our game night idea didn’t reach fruition, but I will meet her one day, dang nabbit!

Our 4th Anniversary

As of TODAY Gabe and I have been married for 4 years. Money may not go as far as we want/need it to, but otherwise things have been pretty easy going for the two of us as we’re easy going people. In the rare event we get into a disagreement we’re over it the next day and have completely forgotten about it the next. Neither of us are perfect– far from it– but I feel as though we’re perfect for each other. Plus we made an awesome little boy. In honor of our anniversary we grabbed cupcakes from our favorite bakery the other day, but we have yet to decide what, if anything, we’ll do when he’s out of work tonight. If you’d like to see my post from our anniversary last year click here, otherwise I’m going to leave you with a couple more pictures.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

6 Responses to “Highs in July”

  1. Deborah 07/30/2014 at 8:26 am #

    I can’t believe how fast that time has gone! Happy Anniversary! 🙂

  2. katiegirl06460 07/30/2014 at 10:16 am #

    You have had a busy summer…Glad you had a great time…of course Happy Anniversary…:)

  3. nerdinthebrain 07/30/2014 at 1:18 pm #

    Happy anniversary!!!! 😀

    • Sincerely Kate 07/30/2014 at 6:25 pm #

      I spent a portion of my anniversary making something for you! I likely won’t send it until I’m sending your next letter, but stranger things have happened 😀

      • nerdinthebrain 07/30/2014 at 8:42 pm #

        Woohoo! Happy Kate and Gabe’s anniversary to me! 😀

Leave a Reply

