Vari-Kate-ions: July

15 Jul

If you know of this blog you know I’m a woman who loves her mail. Well, not the bills, though the envelopes businesses send along are great canvases for some mail art. In some of my Vari-Kate-ions you’ll see upcycled envelopes, by the way.

But what is a Vari-Kate-ion? It’s Kate’s my snail mail take on Variation 1, a list of 100 themes available on deviantart.com to inspire those who stumble upon it. I tackled these last month and these the month before it. Oh, and the wildcard mentioned here. I only do a handful a month to avoid burn-out, and I go in order to avoid being left with a bunch of craptacular themes towards the end of this endeavor.

So what have I been up to this month?

  • Silence
  • Questioning
  • Blood
  • Rainbow
  • Gray

009For silence I was, in fact, very silent. The only words used were the shipping information for the LEP member I’m surprising with 20 sheets of stationery. No note was enclosed, no return address was given, and no messages were sent to let the recipient know she’d be getting anything. Silence really is golden 😉

003Othella, another member of the LEP, is also a member of the FB group I have for my pen pals and she’s been such a welcome addition. One of the games she plays regularly is the Questions Only game so for the Questioning theme I sent her a letter full of questions only. There were 39 all together.

006Not going to lie, the thought of using real blood DID cross my mind, but, fortunately for my fingers (and for Allison), I have a small threshold for pain. On my last outing with the husband I was on a mission to find a red pen &/or marker that would mimic blood decently enough. I used another red pen of mine to write my response to my New York pal in lieu of my usual black one. The blood may not look realistic, but I still love how it and the envelope turned out. Zoom in on Marsh Mailow, haha.

018Sara Jean not only moved recently but found out she was pregnant, too– I thought I’d use the rainbow theme as an opportunity to congratulate her. I grabbed a sheet of rainbow paper, markers, gelly roll pens, and stencils and went to town. Oh, and washi tape if you count the envelope. She’s been, understandably, a bit too preoccupied to write so I just shared random facts with her from when I was pregnant with Logan, one for each rainbow-friendly pen I have. One may have suggested that I had more hot fudge while I was pregnant than during the rest of my life.

009A LEPster by the name of Sarah writes letters as the characters from the books she writes. Between receiving some of these letters (from a vampire named Michael) and also reading one of her drafts for another project, I decided I would create something for her. I know she likes bees so I used some flowery scrapbook paper for the background in an attempt to make it all flow together– all of it in gray or something close to it. Maybe if she reads as much as she writes it can be used as a bookmark.

I’m pretty proud of myself to be done with these already. I suppose I could have done more, but for reasons you’ll see in a future blog post I’m glad I didn’t try to. Interested in being included next month? Let me know, whether we write or not. Something else you can tell me? What you’d recommend doing for themes like fortitude, no time, and trouble lurking 😉 Please and thank you!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

5 Responses to “Vari-Kate-ions: July”

  1. nerdinthebrain 07/15/2014 at 7:23 am #

    Those all look great! My favorite bit if the Marsh Mailow with the caution tape. 😀

    • Sincerely Kate 07/15/2014 at 8:13 am #

      Haha, isn’t that awesome? I may have to do that on more envelopes– maybe even one for you 😉

  2. nicawesomeole 07/15/2014 at 1:49 pm #

    These are lovely! And you are so awesome for posting these things on your blog. I need to be inspired to do so.

    • Sincerely Kate 07/15/2014 at 5:16 pm #

      I’m glad you like them! Would you be interested in one next month? Wink wink, nudge nudge. Perhaps we could pick one of the upcoming themes to do together for inspiration purposes– yours doesn’t necessarily have to be something that’s mailed unless you’d like to exchange ’em 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vari-Kate-ions: 37-40 | Sincerely Kate - 03/05/2015

    […] 15-19 @ Vari-Kate-ions: July […]

Leave a Reply

