Gnome Sweet Gnome

25 Jun

I used a chunk of an Alice quote for my previous title, so I thought I’d use something pertaining to gnomes for this one, as they are another huge love of mine and have been since the South Park episode where a bunch of gnomes stole Tweek’s underpants. The random stuff you learn on this blog of mine…

Have you heard of deco books? If not, be prepared to learn something else! If so, well, you still may learn something. A Deco Book is something that’s generally sent from pen pal to pen pal. The book will have some sort of theme and it’s up the recipient to do something pertaining to the theme for the next page so it’s deco-rated. I have never received such a book. Several months ago, I woke up in the middle of the night with an idea for a deco book with a twist. I can never be normal, haha.

The twist: instead of a book of mine being sent about, I would send two little critters to each of the LEPs interested in participating, and it would then be up to them to build a page around the things. I called it my deconstructed deco book. The critters I sent out were a hedgehog, an owl, a snall, and a gnome.

There are still four pages that have yet to find their way home to me, but I have had the other four for a while now and can’t wait to show this half any longer.

Of course I made a cover for such a thing! Other critters may be involved, but I chose the ones who fit with my gnome-bodies.

Of course I made a cover for such a thing! Other critters may be involved in this deconstructed deco book, but I chose the ones who fit with my gnome-bodies.

g2

Made by Amethyst, a LEP from Colorado who dyed her own background paper 😀

Jennifer from California used an assortment of paper to build her page. She even built off the gnome and snail.

Jennifer from California used an assortment of paper to build her page. She even built off the gnome and snail.

Othella's page has a lot going on, yet everything seems to belong.

Othella’s page has a lot going on, yet everything seems to belong.

Pretty nifty, eh? Hopefully the other pages will show up soon. Not only do I want to see ’em and share ’em, I already have an idea for my next deconstructed deco book. I know, you’re so surprised.

Ciao for now!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

6 Responses to “Gnome Sweet Gnome”

  1. Deborah 06/25/2014 at 9:20 am #

    Two questions:
    1) You not normal?
    2) You already have an idea for the next one?
    I’m so shocked!
    But seriously, I love this idea and the pages that have come through so far. Can’t wait to see the next ones! 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 06/25/2014 at 9:38 am #

      Should you look at a certain wishlist, you may be able to find out what I plan on doing for the second 😉

  2. nerdinthebrain 06/25/2014 at 9:50 am #

    1. Collect underpants
    2. ???
    3. Profit
    😀

    I love, love, love the pages! Those look fantastic. I’m looking forward to seeing the rest of the lovely artwork when it comes in. Your cover is amazing, too. 😀

    • Sincerely Kate 06/25/2014 at 11:50 am #

      I LOVE that you’re familiar with that episode! I don’t think I have watched South Park since Logan was born, but certain things have definitely stuck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hail the Snail #8 | Sincerely Kate - 08/04/2014

    […] along with a little letter from a LEP member named Lisa, and Millie’s contribution to my deconstructed deco book project, shown […]

  2. Thank You Notes ’14- Part 3 | Sincerely Kate - 11/25/2014

    […] the art that has come my way whether it’s your contribution to a dossier, a page for my deconstructed deco book, or the envelopes you send things like the above in. You truly are a crafty maven and I think we […]

Leave a Reply

