Delivery of Destiny

5 Jun

I have known of subscription boxes for quite some time now thanks to Kära and my sister-in-law, Megan, but it wasn’t until recently that I really found myself wanting one. It was this post on Megan’s foodie blog that pushed me over the edge, not that I wanted that one, per se. After I read that I was telling my mom about this little epiphany of mine, and it turns out she thought about me getting a subscription box, too. We did a little looking around and found Paper Pumpkin and the next morning she ordered it. Thank you, Bessie!

This came for yours truly on Monday:

pumpkin

And here’s what was inside:

011

  • Jots & Thoughts Clear Stamp Set
  • Island Indigo Classic Stampin’ Spot
  • Saddle-stitched notebook
  • Printed, die-cut accents
  • Summer Starfruit Baker’s Twine
  • Clear Block

I omitted sizes and whatnot. You’re welcome 😛

Using the following tips/instructions I made this little notebook. Cute, right?

002To mount the stamp, place it cling-side down on a clean clear block. Press down firmly and hold it in place for a few moments. If it doesn’t adhere well, make sure the block is clean, oil-free, and dry, then try again.

To stamp, evenly ink the stamp by tapping the stamp on the Stampin’ Spot– be careful not to get ink on the edges of the stamp. Press the stamp firmly onto the paper, using even pressure– don’t rock the stamp from side to side. Pull the stamp straight up from paper.

1. Stamp the words and dots in Island Indigo ink on the notebook cover.
2. Adhere the butterflies.
3. Wrap the Baker’s Twine around the front cover (you might want to secure the ends with a bit of tape on the inside cover.
4. Use the extra accents on the inside pages.

Prior to starting I was worried about the ink pad being too small to accommodate the stamps, but it worked just fine. The only thing that wound up being an issue for me was the tip regarding the clear block. I know the stamps are supposed to adhere to it, but where? Wouldn’t two smaller rectangular blocks be better than one bulky square? I don’t get it, and therefore I didn’t use the block. Regardless, I’m satisfied with the project and that’s what’s important.

If my mom were to continue ordering boxes from Paper Pumpkin for her pumpkin (that’s me!), I would not tell her to stop, but I wouldn’t spend $20ish a month on this myself– I’d rather use that money at a craft store picking out my own stamps since I doubt I’d think every month was quite as cute as “jots & thoughts” was. Beginner’s luck and all that.

I may not be signing up for another box, at least not anytime soon, but I’m thankful for my mom getting me my first, and for her daughter-in-law who planted the idea in both of our heads to begin with.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

17 Responses to “Delivery of Destiny”

  1. nerdinthebrain 06/05/2014 at 6:33 am #

    That turned out cute! 😀

    There’s a nerdy subscription box I have my eye on…if I ever decide to fork over the cash for it, I’ll post about it. 😉

    • Sincerely Kate 06/05/2014 at 6:36 am #

      Fortunately Paper Pumpkin had this $16 trial so that wasn’t too ridiculous. How much would the nerdy one set you back?

      • nerdinthebrain 06/05/2014 at 6:54 am #

        $16 isn’t bad at all! With shipping, the nerdy subscription box is $30. They come with a lot of cool stuff, so I don’t feel like it’s a bad price…I’m just thinking $30 might be better spent on groceries or the water bill or something pesky like that. 😉

      • Sincerely Kate 06/05/2014 at 7:05 am #

        Darn those pesky things! I’m listening to the podcast, right now (I skipped to get to the part regarding you)– you sound so cute!

        “Has teaching always been a passion?”
        “Absolutely not!”

        I totally left a note in a library book. I feel like that was a shout-out to me, hehe.

      • nerdinthebrain 06/05/2014 at 7:09 am #

        I even mentioned a pen pal! 😀

        And now you know how Southern I am. 😉

      • Sincerely Kate 06/05/2014 at 7:11 am #

        You did! I got the biggest smile on my face when I heard that!

      • nerdinthebrain 06/05/2014 at 7:15 am #

        Yay! 😀

  2. Jade Reyner 06/05/2014 at 6:35 am #

    I had never heard of these until I read your post and I have no idea if they are available in the UK. I can see the attraction and I would love opening it and finding all the exciting things inside but I would be a bit like you and worry that I would not get around to using it or it wouldn’t be something that appealed to me. I would be concerned that it would just sit in the corner unused and before I knew it I would have a tower of boxes. If you do carry on then it would be great to see the other things that you make 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 06/05/2014 at 6:39 am #

      I’m not sure if subscription boxes are available over there, but it could be worth looking into! Two of my pen pals have both been telling me about these “Graze” boxes that have healthy snacks in them, and you can tell the company if you have any allergies/dislikes so they’ll send you things you’re more than likely going to enjoy. That said, perhaps there’s something Jade-friendly out there! 😀

      • Jade Reyner 06/06/2014 at 4:02 am #

        Sounds good! I would love to be able to afford one of those diet companies that just delivers your meals and all you have to do is microwave them and lose weight.. sigh 😀

  3. Deborah 06/05/2014 at 6:53 am #

    I think it’s a good assessment. After all, you could get quite a bit at the store for that amount. And it’s what you want. If you WERE to try another one, what would it be? 😉

    • Sincerely Kate 06/05/2014 at 8:33 am #

      Part of me would like to stick with Paper Pumpkin, but after scrolling around other potential candidates are: Craftistas, Whimseybox, Some Socks Sock Club, and The Happy Trunk– that last one is appropriate for the Loganator 🙂

  4. Kari from LEP 06/06/2014 at 11:45 am #

    I was getting Simon Says Stamp’s subscription box. It had embellishments, a stamp set & paper. Enough to make a few cards. It was a little over $20 and I LOVED it. I decided to cancel only because I get Stamps of Life and upped it to get the dies & stamps so that went up to $20 from $10 for just the stamp. I couldn’t justify both! Although I think I might go back to Simon Says Stamp and cancel Stamps of Life…..I can’t decide! I need to win the lottery! I just loved all the paper and embellishments that came with the card kits….so many decisions…..

    • Sincerely Kate 06/06/2014 at 2:49 pm #

      I have a few things on my wishlist from Simon Says Stamps, but didn’t know they have subscription boxes. Look into this, I will.

  5. Must Have Boxes 06/12/2014 at 6:24 pm #

    Great box!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    • Sincerely Kate 06/12/2014 at 6:40 pm #

      Thanks for sharing your link with me! I’m following you on Twitter now– I think my next box may be a Pennie Post one thanks to you 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hail the Snail #6 | Sincerely Kate - 06/09/2014

    […] to hear that people like the mail I sent them, what I really found nice is that I got my box from Paper Pumpkin, 5 postcards (one was from Wonderland!), six traditional-ish letters, and possibly the longest […]

Leave a Reply

