Book Review: Feed

2 Jun

Several months ago I got a letter from Kära where she told me about Feed by M.T. Anderson.

It’s like the Brave New World or 1984 of our generation. It’s a science-fiction about life in the future. The Feed is like the ultimate facebook/blogroll/news feed… it shows people entertainment, information handles banking… everything. So, it’s about what happens when things go wrong with the Feed. It’s a bit of a commentary on the consumerism of our society. It’s told from the perspective of a teenager, and in their voice. It’s different since no one writes or reads anymore, so the language is sort of declining and you can tell that in the writing. Additionally, there are a bit of new slang words. It takes a few minutes to get used to but it’s interesting, page-turning and a pretty easy read.

I liked what she said so I looked into the book… only to have a heck of a time getting through it. I started Feed on February 24th, reading all Part 1 that day, but it wasn’t until May 23rd that I finished it. I would put it down after reading it for a bit and just NOT want to pick it up. I thought the plot was great, but the way Titus narrated his story was incredibly off-putting. I get that his language skills, or lack thereof, is kind of the point– why learn to speak well when the Feed can basically speak on your behalf?– but I feel like Feed could have benefited from being narrated via third person.

Like I said though, the plot was great; I can’t go out to eat without seeing someone’s fingertips glued to their phone so a future where people have a smart phone in lieu of a mind of their own hit home. I think if I wouldn’t have grown up with that technology like Violet did I would have been messing with it just like she did. She’d go from store to store trying on random clothes she’d never consider buying or asking about sports equipment when she had no intention of playing it just to throw the system for a loop. It’s too bad that led to her downfall.

It’s a thought-provoking book, though I’m not sure I’d recommend it. At one point Link, Titus’ best friend, said “This is null. This sucks.” and I thought that on several occasions myself. To each their own, I suppose, but my mom tried a sample and couldn’t get through it.

001In other news, since finishing this book I started something else… decopauging this clipboard with “Dear Kate”s from letters I’m no longer holding onto. A few blank spots but I still like it bunches. Now THAT I’d recommend!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~ 

5 Responses to “Book Review: Feed”

  1. Allison 06/02/2014 at 9:18 am #

    Sounds like “A Clockwork Orange” as far as the writing and narration style goes. Ever read that one?

    • Sincerely Kate 06/02/2014 at 9:21 am #

      I haven’t. Would you recommend it, or probably not considering the tough time I had getting through Feed?

      • Allison 06/02/2014 at 9:28 am #

        Some books you have to work for, and that’s intentional by the author and it doesn’t mean they should have written it differently – it just means they’ve made an artistic choice that will take them out of the mainstream because a lot of people won’t want to read it. You have to work for “A Clockwork Orange” (and it’s violent and gruesome, but it’s a classic for a reason too). So if you want to read more books that you have to work for but that stick with you afterward, this is a good one for you. But it doesn’t sound like you do, so maybe skip it, lol.

  2. nerdinthebrain 06/02/2014 at 12:25 pm #

    Hmmm…your review intrigues me. I’m thinking of looking into the book just to join in your pain or something like that. 🙂

    Okay, yeah, I totally just put it on hold at the library. 😀

    • Sincerely Kate 06/02/2014 at 1:13 pm #

      Haha, that’s pretty similar to what my mom said. “I know you wouldn’t recommend it, but your review still makes me want to read it!” She tried the sample and couldn’t get through it so I/we wish you the best of luck!

Leave a Reply

