Squirrels of Summer

25 May

016Once upon a new year, specifically 2013, I got the idea in my head to make SKuirrels and send ’em out into the wild, or at least to pen pals so they could take pictures of the little guy in cute &/or clever ways and then send it to someone else so they can do the same.

This wound up being a huge dud. Sure 4 of the original recipients shared some pictures but after two months I never received anything else, and two months is being generous. At some point I disbanded the FB page I made and started using my critter as a bookmark.

Several months later, as I was scrolling the LEP group, I started thinking about my SKuirrels again. It wasn’t that I wanted to make a second batch or anything, but I did think that they might have fared better if they would have stayed within a group.

Then one fine day after I advertised this dino-mite post from Nerd in the Brain, an international member told the leader of the LEP that the group needed a version of Dino-Doption.

That’s when it hit me. I should make something flat and that something should have a personality like Ed and the other dinosaurs. Granted, these somethings wouldn’t belong to just one person, but to the LEP (hence me not calling them “SKuirrels” again). Random note: I offered to do make something other than squirrels, and though gnomes were a close second, the majority went to the furry little guys. Once it was decided what I was making, a bunch of LEPs helped me with the who

I could keep rambling on about the things or I could just introduce you to them…

*July 2017 Edit: Their individual bios have been removed.*

These squirrels were released into the wild back on Monday and they have started reaching their destinations already on Wednesday. Pictures I’ve been fortunate enough to see have since been removed from this blog post on 7-24-17.

Beavis, Steve, and Supernuts have yet to make their first stops on their trip around the world, but I’m sure once they get where they’re going they’ll have as much fun as the other three critters, and that I’ll enjoy those pictures just as much, too. I may post more of them here in the future, but for now I’m just hoping this batch of squirrels has a future. In the meantime, all the best, Bleaders!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~ 

PS: Here’s one last photo:

10313676_10203645281353562_2742930666851210522_n

4 Responses to “Squirrels of Summer”

  1. nerdinthebrain 05/25/2014 at 12:47 pm #

    Oh, they are adorable! 😀 I’m so glad they’re already making their way out into the wilds. (By the way, there will be some new and exciting dinos ready for adoption tomorrow!) 😀

    • Sincerely Kate 05/25/2014 at 12:49 pm #

      *Throws confetti* Albert and Seamus had a photo op yesterday; if Andronic doesn’t send you a picture I will 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Scrapbook on Steroids: A Third Dose | Sincerely Kate - 07/20/2014

    […] you to the first dose and this to the second. And if you’re interested in the squirrels, here’s the post written in their honor. Pen palling, it’s not solely for […]

  2. Creations Unleashed | Sincerely Kate - 10/30/2014

    […] of The League of Extraordinary Pen Pals recently made me feel they’d like to see more of the squirrels I made for the group back in May, so in the spirit of “Creations Unleashed” let me show […]

Leave a Reply

