Book Review: The Thousand Dollar Tan Line

19 May

Gosh, it seems like months since I’ve posted a book review. Oh wait, it has been. It’s not that I haven’t been reading at all, but I have yet to finish Feed, the book I started in March, and Glint, a pen pal’s baby, isn’t completed so once it’s on the verge of being released into the wild I may revisit it again.

So what finally got me posting again? Veronica Mars, of course. I’ve loved her since I discovered the series during my first trimester. It was long off the air by the time Nicole helped me find it, but that doesn’t make me any less of a fan. When the movie came out in March I watched it as soon as it became available online, and as soon as my pen pal Kari told me there was a book that followed, it was in my shopping cart. At first I thought I’d save The Thousand Dollar Tan Line, by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham, until after I finished Feed to reward myself, but once it came in the mail the waiting was over. 

This book lived up to my expectations and then some. Though it could stand alone, it followed along after the series and movie as if it was always meant to be the continuation, including key characters as well as incorporating some other familiar faces, too. Rob Thomas, the show’s creator, clearly takes pride in his characters, whether on screen or on the page. I don’t want to say too much about ’em or the actual story since Nicole has yet to read it, but just know that there are the twists and turns that kept viewers coming back for more so now readers will want to come back, too.

Here’s a sample of buried treasure this fan girl loved finding:

  • “Because normal is the watchword, isn’t it?” — “Normal is the Watchword” was the title of the first episode from the second season. Both Veronica and Wallace said it back then and the former said it again now.
  • Veronica’s banter with her dad is back in full force: after opening a box Keith gave her with a gun inside she said “I asked for a pony. And year after year I’m disappointed.”
  • And Cliff, the public defender, saying how cases where stupid people do stupid things are his forte. “‘Like this guy.’ He picked up a folder from the mess on his desk. ‘He updated his Facebook account from inside a house he was robbing.'”

While I totally think you’d appreciate The Thousand Dollar Tan Line more if you’ve seen both the show and the movie, I think that Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham wrote it in a way that didn’t make the predecessors seem mandatory. If you really want a recommendation from me though, watch everything and then read the book, hehe. My son possibly wouldn’t be named Logan if it wasn’t for the show if that tells you just how much I like it!

Before I bid farewell, I have my own problem I’d like you to help me solve…

Which address labels should I get next? I just discovered my gnome ones were all gone so I’m hoping to buy a replacement soon 🙂

The one with the cupcake

The one with the cupcake

The mail-friendly one

The mail-friendly one

Thanks for reading!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

 

10 Responses to “Book Review: The Thousand Dollar Tan Line”

  1. Deborah 05/19/2014 at 8:05 am #

    I vote for the cupcake! 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 05/19/2014 at 8:09 am #

      Originally that was what I was planning on since I have wanted it since my Avenue Q post, but of course I love the mail-friendly one, too.

  2. Allison 05/19/2014 at 9:25 am #

    I second the cupcake.

  3. nerdinthebrain 05/19/2014 at 10:43 am #

    Okay, you’ve inspired me to check out this whole Veronica Mars thing…I’ve never seen/read any of it, but I think the time has come. 😉

    The cupcake is cute, but I’m kind of partial to the mail-friendly one. 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 05/19/2014 at 11:27 am #

      Definitely check it out– I’d love to have one more thing to talk to you obsessively about 😀 If my first DVD case wasn’t broken (one of the discs slides around because of it) I’d loan it to you.

  4. nicawesomeole 07/15/2014 at 1:52 pm #

    I’ve got the book, and I was a backer of the movie, but I’m waiting for my husband to watch the show with me (I want to revisit) before I watch the movie, then read the book–life is so complicated, LOL.

    • Sincerely Kate 07/15/2014 at 5:15 pm #

      Thank you for backing the movie! Once you watch it you won’t be disappointed. I feel like it really gave the fans what they were wanting since the s3 finale– I know it was exactly what I wanted. My husband has seen bits and pieces– there was no way I was going to wait for him to watch it all before watching the movie. You must have a lot of willpower!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hail the Snail #5 | Sincerely Kate - 05/26/2014

    […] other updates to share with you. The first one is that I decided to get BOTH of the labels I shared last Monday because when I went to order the cupcakes I saw that vistaprint was having a 40% of sale– I […]

  2. Thank You Notes ’14- Part 3 | Sincerely Kate - 11/25/2014

    […] You, my dear, had me at Veronica Mars. It was because of you I found out the book following the movie existed and heard that “Mr. Kiss & Tell” will be released early […]

  3. Books and Crannies #2 | Sincerely Kate - 04/20/2015

    […] make a movie last year, and the books that have followed have been just as worthy of my excitement. Click me to see the first book’s review. Just like the book that came before it, Mr. Kiss and Tell […]

Leave a Reply

