From One Geek to Another

15 Apr

Once upon a letter, my pen pal Kära was telling me about the International Geek Girl Pen Pals Club and the pen pal she acquired from there. She was all sorts of excited because the website took the list of Geek Loves she submitted and matched her with someone who had a similar list. Of course I was intrigued, even more so once Kära posted this blog post promoting the website even more. It was a win/win because not only did I score my pen friend some points, I had the opportunity to make another new pen friend.

Here’s the list of Geek Loves I submitted last month:

  • Alice in Wonderland
  • Blogging
  • YA Books
  • Gnomes
  • Washi Tape

On the first of April I got an email saying I’ve been paired with someone named Annie so I immediately emailed the girl telling her about my Geek Loves and asking her about hers. Here are some excerpts from the email I got back:

Re: My Geek Loves

Can I just say I love gnomes!

And washi tape!! Oh, my love of washi!

Re: Annie’s Geek Loves

-crafts!! Any type of craft and there’s a good chance I’m going to go crazy over it. I’m thinking of joining a craft of the month club where every month they send you a craft to make. I still don’t know yet but it sounds like a great idea.

-stationery (I’m obsessed…there’s no way out for me)

-books. Literally, everything and anything to do with them. In fact, my favourite past time is to loiter at the bookstore or library. I just love books so much!

Yeah, I think we’re going to get along just fine! I started a letter for her that afternoon and this stuff was ready to be sent out the very next day:

Annie told me she’d let me know when the letter got there, but unfortunately that hasn’t happened yet. Regardless, I can’t wait to hear what she thinks of my geeky self or to get to know her better. Want to geek out to? Check out the International Geek Girls Pen Pals Club.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

12 Responses to “From One Geek to Another”

  1. Allison 04/15/2014 at 9:00 am #

    Oh man… Another thing I probably shouldn’t do because I need to stop making more time commitments, but almost definitely will do anyway!

    • Sincerely Kate 04/15/2014 at 10:32 am #

      I haven’t spent too much time on the rest of their site, but the pen pal portion was definitely something I couldn’t resist!

  2. nerdinthebrain 04/15/2014 at 12:11 pm #

    Oh, and now I have to do this. I’ve never really done the pen pal thing…this could be fun. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 04/15/2014 at 1:53 pm #

      If you want a pen pal, you could always write to me 😉

      • nerdinthebrain 04/15/2014 at 2:26 pm #

        But whatever would I write about? You already know everything I do from my blog. 😉 *pondering where I would start*

      • Sincerely Kate 04/15/2014 at 5:46 pm #

        I can start! I can find all sorts of things for us to talk about, just you watch!

      • nerdinthebrain 04/15/2014 at 6:03 pm #

        Oh, do eeeeeeet! I’m so excited! 😀 I signed up for the one you blogged about, too, but it will be sometime in May before they do the pairings.

      • Sincerely Kate 04/15/2014 at 7:30 pm #

        *throws confetti* When you get paired I expect to hear the success story!

      • nerdinthebrain 04/15/2014 at 8:21 pm #

        Of course! 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Sister with the Liebster | Sincerely Kate - 05/12/2014

    […] 1) I got 9 letters since May began, starting with my first one from Annie, my Geek Girl Pen Pal.  […]

  2. Hail the Snail #7 | Sincerely Kate - 06/16/2014

    […] I had to put it together right away because she wrote a message on the back. A letter from Annie, my Geek Girl Pen Pal, also came that […]

  3. Vari-Kate-ions: August | Sincerely Kate - 08/25/2014

    […] cool thing about Annie, my International Geek Girl Pen Pal, is that she uses the projects I send as inspiration for her own, especially if ATCs are […]

Leave a Reply

