Les Miserables

25 Mar

Guess what musical is now the world’s largest running musical. Well, the  title of this post probably gave that away. But what you might not have been able to infer is that I was finally among the 65 million people who have seen this production. Thanks to my Aunt Karin for inviting me and to my Uncle Doug for not being interested enough so she could.

The performance at The Midland Center for the Arts lived up to my expectations, for sure! Javert and Eponine were especially incredible, though I thought everyone apart from Valjean was awesome. Valjean wasn’t bad by any means, but his singing wasn’t quite up to par with the others so it got a bit distracting at times– he even cracked during “Bring Him Home” (but maybe I’m just nit-picky).

Despite the show being 3 hours long, not once did I think it was dragging along. I imagine the scene changes occurred swiftly because they were able to use two major pieces for the bulk of their set. One of the pieces spent the first act as a platform that went over the orchestra pit to extend the stage, but after the intermission it became the barracade and was utilized for the scene in the sewers, too. The other piece not only made an ideal backdrop whether they were in a church, at the inn, or outside, but it was also used as both a bridge and a balcony and there was a rotating staircase to accomodate the latter. It was all very impressive (though a bit hard to explain).

The cast and crew have nothing to feel miserable about!

lm1

So here is the part of the post where I find a way to incorporate the show I saw with the theme of my blog like I did for both Jekyll & Hyde and Avenue Q. I have become pretty good friends with a fellow blogger here on wordpress– you can find her at Nerd in the Brain. The reason I am bringing her up is because she does this thing on Thursdays called “Three Things Thursday”– she even featured a postcard from me as one of her three things once.

It’s not Thursday, but it is a Tuesday which is close enough as far as I’m concerned, so here is my take on Three Things Thursday Tuesday, but I’m calling it “Reasons I’m not among the Miserable Ones” hehe.

1. Because of the musical, I stayed at my grandparents’ that night. It just made sense considering how it was 3 hours long and an hour away from where I live. My grandparents are so good to me; not only did they let me crash in their guest room, they treated me to a fish dinner on Friday and a pancake breakfast on Saturday. I got some letter writing in while I was there, too.

2. I got one of my beloved frozen hot chocolates from the Sweet Boutique on my way back home. Logan’s a fan of these, too; he told his trucks and tractors all about ’em Saturday afternoon while I was in the living room (writing letters, of course).

3. This is what graced my mailbox with its presence yesterday– AHHH!

001

So why aren’t YOU miserable? 😉

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

 

16 Responses to “Les Miserables”

  1. holley4734 03/25/2014 at 7:13 am #

    I love Les Miserable. Valjean should be the best singer, not the worst. Love the post!

    • Sincerely Kate 03/25/2014 at 7:16 am #

      I agree! Like I said, the guy wasn’t bad, but he just seemed to fall short for me. Perhaps I was expecting too much? *Shrugs*

      • holley4734 03/25/2014 at 7:17 am #

        Yeah, I know what you mean. Maybe he was just nervous . . . 🙂 I think I’ve watched the movie twice . . . this week. 🙂

      • Sincerely Kate 03/25/2014 at 7:19 am #

        It’s funny. You’d think after being in a theatre for 3+ hours I wouldn’t be interested in watching the movie anytime soon, but I’m actually hoping my toddler will let me get it in sometime this week.

      • holley4734 03/25/2014 at 7:24 am #

        I liked the movie. Not sure about Marius. Russell Crowe was a surprise. Who knew he could sing?
        Hope you get something done! It’s hard to accomplish things with a toddler or even a five year old. I only get things done when she’s at school. lol

      • Sincerely Kate 03/25/2014 at 7:33 am #

        Sounds about right! At least they’re cute, haha.

        Yeah, I was a bit hesitant about Russell Crowe in the movie, but he was a pleasant surprise. I still can’t get over the Javert from the other night… I don’t care for the character that much, but I swear he was born to play it!

      • holley4734 03/25/2014 at 7:35 am #

        Javert is difficult to like. 🙂

  2. nerdinthebrain 03/25/2014 at 10:30 am #

    I’m glad you had such a good time! A show and pancakes and frozen hot chocolate…win! 😀 And I love, love, love your list! (Those packs of washi tape look pretty amazing.)

    • Sincerely Kate 03/25/2014 at 10:35 am #

      I haven’t even opened the washi yet! The dork in me thinks they look almost too nice to use… though I do have plans to decorate my dry erase board with one of the containers, hehe.

  3. cupitonians 03/26/2014 at 5:36 am #

    Tell me about this sorcery called frozen hot chocolates! 😐

    • Sincerely Kate 03/26/2014 at 7:51 am #

      I prefer them way over milkshakes for starters. Since milkshakes are made with milk, I find they make me feel rather bloated after I’ve been drinking one for a while. Frozen hot chocolate takes some hot chocolate and then blends it with ice, so it’s made with more water than anything (though I think there’s a bit of milk in there). The Sweet Boutique tops it with some whipped cream and a bit of chocolate syrup and I’m in heaven I tell you. No uncomfortable feelings afterwards, either.

  4. randee 03/29/2014 at 7:38 am #

    I recently saw Les Mis, too, and loved it.

  5. thirteen1999 03/30/2014 at 4:24 pm #

    I have yet to see the play, but love the old movie (not the recent one, I haven’t seen it but I know I’ll love it once I do). Victor Hugo is an amazing writer, I love his works though they are dark, especially Our Lady of Paris.

    • thirteen1999 03/30/2014 at 4:25 pm #

      But, now more than ever, I want to go see it in an actual production. 🙂 I love your post, by the way.

      • Sincerely Kate 03/30/2014 at 5:27 pm #

        Thanks! I’m sure you’d love both the play and the newer movie. The former actually made me appreciate the latter since even though it had to be edited a bit they still did it justice 🙂

      • thirteen1999 03/30/2014 at 6:27 pm #

        Thats great, and I am sure I will love it. (And will probably cry a bucket.)

Leave a Reply

