A Scrapbook on Steroids

20 Mar

I heard about smashbooks twice towards the beginning of the month and wound up getting this one by the middle of it, hehe:

001

Thank you, impromptu lunch/craft store day with Tawnie!

A smashbook is basically an amplified scrapbook, hence the title of this post. Instead of just pictures and stickers hanging out on the paper of the maker’s choice, these themed books already have backgrounds printed onto heavy cardstock making it easy to literally build off of. In addition to the books there are accessories like pockets and pop-out effects you can purchase (or potentially make yourself) so your creation can house way more than just kodak moments.

You’re never going to guess what I decided to do with my “Nostalgia” smashbook 😉

I think I’m so intrigued with these things because I used to enjoy scrapbooking, but stopped seeing the purpose once all of my pictures were not only digital, but posted on Facebook for all my friends and family to see that way. This smashbook is for me to become nostalgic over considering how important pen palling is to me. I’ll be sure to post more pictures from it down the road, but for now I’ll leave you with my first few works in progress.

I plan on adding more stamps to this page, but I figured the first one would be a good place for some mail friendly odds and ends like my "business cards" and letter-friendly washi tape.

I plan on adding more stamps and things to this, but I figured the first page would be a good place for some mail-friendly odds and ends like my “business cards” and letter-esque washi tape.

I decided to get some more use out of all those "Pen Pal of the Month" posts. I printed off the answers to the question "What's your favorite thing about having me as a pen pal?" :-D

I decided to get some more use out of all those “Pen Pal of the Month” posts. I printed off the answers to the question “What’s your favorite thing about having me as a pen pal?” 😀 I also incorporated Valentines (the ones I received are in the envelope… that I received via Nerd in the Brain, hehe).

These pages need a lot more added to them, but I decided to include my Thank You for the Thank You I gave our mail carrier.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

12 Responses to “A Scrapbook on Steroids”

  1. thirteen1999 03/20/2014 at 11:51 am #

    That’s a great idea! I’m actually working on a scrapbook for penpals letters and it’s actually more like a smash book but in a scrapbook. I need to catch up on it actually.

    • Sincerely Kate 03/20/2014 at 12:07 pm #

      I thought about putting letters in the book, but I figured it’d get awfully fat awfully fast, so I’m going to keep it more of the odds and ends of the pen pal spectrum. The letters I receive can continue to hang out in binders 🙂

      • thirteen1999 03/20/2014 at 10:51 pm #

        Yeah, that’s what happened to my first one, so I ended up getting thick scrapbooks for them. Any letters that don’t get to go in a scrapbook just yet are hanging around in decorative boxes. 🙂 Have you seen the ones that look like books, I LOVE those!

      • Sincerely Kate 03/21/2014 at 9:54 am #

        No, I haven’t, but that may be for the best considering I’d want ’em all 😛

      • thirteen1999 03/21/2014 at 10:53 pm #

        True, very true hahaha.

  2. nerdinthebrain 03/21/2014 at 4:20 am #

    I thought I recognized that little envelope! 😉

    I love that your mail person left you that little note. 😀 Your scrapbook is looking awesome!

    • Sincerely Kate 03/21/2014 at 9:55 am #

      I had to use it! I’m such a pack-rat so at least with the smashbook there’s a place for all the things I just can’t part with, the note included.

  3. cupitonians 03/26/2014 at 5:38 am #

    That is a beautiful scrapbook! ❤

    • Sincerely Kate 03/26/2014 at 7:49 am #

      It’s very much a work in progress, but I agree 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Scrapbook on Steroids: A Second Dose | Sincerely Kate - 05/20/2014

    […] months ago I told you about my smashbook and I even shared some of its pages with you. Though I don’t add to the book very often, I […]

  2. A Scrapbook on Steroids: A Third Dose | Sincerely Kate - 07/20/2014

    […] you’d like to see the contributions to my smashbook prior to these, this will lead you to the first dose and this to the second. And if you’re interested in the […]

  3. A Scrapbook on Steroids: A Fourth Dose | Sincerely Kate - 09/20/2014

    […] to see for yourself? Click me for the first dose! And me for the second! Hit me for a third […]

Leave a Reply

