It’s My Party

5 Mar

…And I’ll brag if I want to.

party1

I know 27 is hardly a landmark of a birthday, but when your family and friends love on you like mine have, it’s only natural for a blogger to want to share what made her birthday such a happy one.

For starters, despite living 7,000+ miles away in Taiwan, my mom, taking advantage of JoAnn’s Presidents Day sale, let me pick out a few things online. I’ve been trying to get into making my own envelopes or at least making envelopes more pretty so I decided to get the Kreate-a-lope and a few rolls of washi tape.

Washi tape, by the way, has become my newest obsession. Gabe and I were out and about the other day (getting Chipotle, nom nom) and I asked if we could peek into JoAnn’s to see if anything caught my eye and I walked out with $25 worth of the stuff. Some of it is totally his fault since he insisted I needed rolls like the bacon one. I love my enabler husband.

My dad, Gabe’s parents, my Aunt Ruth and Uncle Randy, and both my grandparents and Gabe’s grandparents were all nice enough to give me birthday cards (complete with things of monetary value inside, hehe). Jen, my aunt-in-law, not only took me to my dentist appointment Thursday morning (where I got the gift of clean teeth), but gave me some baked goodies afterwards, too.

My pen pals have also been really good to me. Not only did I get some adorable stationery from Allison and a sweet birthday card from Justine,  Simona, my pen pal from Italy, surprised me with the Original Boom Boom Deck! I’ve mentioned the Family Deck I acquired myself on this blog a couple times, but I don’t remember if I actually said how I wished I would have gotten the Original one as Logan’s a little too little for some of the acts of kindess. For her to get it for me was the biggest surprise I’ve gotten since finding out my brother-in-law’s going to be a dad.

CAM00039Those who know me know that when my birthday rolls around I like to go pottery painting. Ever since I knew about the cousin Logan would be getting in April I have known that I wanted to make the baby a piggy bank like I did for my little guy back when I was pregnant. Unfortunately I don’t have pictures of the finished product yet as it has yet to be fired, but as you can see I got a picture from this excursion.

And it wouldn’t be a birthday of mine without any kicks and giggles! First of all, Gabe and I just grabbed Arby’s for dinner because that’s what lil’ ol’ me wanted. Prior to leaving I somehow managed to finally beat the 410th level of Candy Crush Saga. My mom posted this blog entry in my honor on March 1st. The following morning I discovered Jim Parsons, the actor who plays Sheldon on my favorite show, The Big Bang Theory, hosted Saturday Night Live. We went to my in-laws’ for dinner on Sunday and Alice in Wonderland— a favorite movie of mine if you’re new here– was playing on Disney Junior. I had such a great weekend full of a lot of great moments; I’m not sure this blog does it justice!

27 may not be much of a landmark, but I’m going to remember it fondly anyway.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

30 Responses to “It’s My Party”

  1. Jade Reyner 03/05/2014 at 8:03 am #

    Hey Kate, I read your Mum’s blog – so glad that you had an amazing birthday weekend. I wish that I was 27 again…! 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 03/05/2014 at 8:06 am #

      Thanks for stopping by! I keep getting asked if I feel any different, but these “late 20’s” just seem to be all meshed together. 30, on the other hand, will likely be a whole other story.

      • Jade Reyner 03/05/2014 at 8:13 am #

        You’ll be fine. Thirty is pretty painless.. I did forty last year and wow.. that was a biggie! 🙂

        But you’ll get your Mum back for your thirtieth so that will be really good!

  2. Deborah 03/05/2014 at 8:51 am #

    Nice birthday post! Nice to know you have a new obsession. 😉

  3. nerdinthebrain 03/05/2014 at 9:31 am #

    Happy, happy birthday (a bit late)!!! 😀 I’m so glad you had such a fabulous time!

    (I’m knocking on the door of 40, so I’m sure I’ll be expected to do something spectacular.) 😉

    • Sincerely Kate 03/05/2014 at 9:35 am #

      If it makes you feel any better, I assumed you were in your early 30’s. You have my permission to pretend that’s the case, hehe.

      • nerdinthebrain 03/05/2014 at 9:50 am #

        Oh, 40 doesn’t bother me at all…it just means I’ve managed to whip around the sun that many times. 🙂 I only get uncomfortable with other people thinking it’s a big deal…that I should be some emotional mess or have some huge event or something. I suspect it will be just another day…I’m hoping the introduction to another 40 years. 😉

      • Sincerely Kate 03/05/2014 at 10:17 am #

        I don’t think I’ll be an emotional mess come 30, though I do think I will finally feel the difference that I haven’t noticed during my 20’s. Gabe’s turning 30 in a couple months and I’ve considered putting together some sort of get together complete with a cake from his favorite bakery, and though I think we’ll still get the cake, I think he’d be happy just sharing it with me and Logan.

      • nerdinthebrain 03/05/2014 at 10:27 am #

        Cake and family sounds like a good plan. 😀 We usually do goofy family outings for birthdays…whatever the birthday person suggests, for the most part. (Last year we played mini-golf and rode paddle boats for mine…we went to the zoo for John’s one year…Grace wants to go to Ikea for her 13th.) For my 40th, I do have one demand…I will smack the mess out of a pinata. 😀

        I bet he’ll enjoy 30! I thought it was a fun age…though I was partial to 32 for some reason. I also thought 27 was pretty spectacular. ;D

      • Sincerely Kate 03/05/2014 at 10:33 am #

        27 for the win! I like how you celebrate birthdays– I think as my son gets older we may do something similar. In the meantime, I enjoy going pottery painting. As you can see 🙂

      • nerdinthebrain 03/05/2014 at 1:18 pm #

        The pottery painting is awesome! I’m thinking of stealing that idea. 😀

      • Sincerely Kate 03/05/2014 at 3:18 pm #

        Pictures or it didn’t happen, haha. When is your birthday, by the way? 🙂

      • nerdinthebrain 03/05/2014 at 3:21 pm #

        Heehee…have you seen my blog? Of course there will be pictures! 😀

        August 28th is the magical day. 😀

      • Sincerely Kate 03/05/2014 at 5:25 pm #

        I shall make a note. Mwahahaha.

  4. kraftycatcreations 03/05/2014 at 9:33 am #

    So glad you had a wonderful birthday celebration! I feel every birthday should be special, not only the “big ones”!

    PS – nice sweatshirt! Sheldon would be jealous!

    • Sincerely Kate 03/05/2014 at 9:36 am #

      Kudos for knowing where my sweatshirt is from! I also have a soft kitty shirt and a matching pair of socks 😀

      • kraftycatcreations 03/05/2014 at 4:03 pm #

        My daughter has the soft kitty shirt, socks and stuffed kitty! 🙂 So cute!

      • Sincerely Kate 03/05/2014 at 5:27 pm #

        I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want the stuffed kitty, too, but at least with clothing it’s easier to justify buying merchandise. Being responsible sucks sometimes.

  5. bessieviola 03/05/2014 at 10:04 am #

    Aww, how fun!! Happy happy birthday! I’m glad it was a great one, you deserve it. 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 03/05/2014 at 10:18 am #

      Thanks, Beth! And thanks for stopping by my little blog 😀

  6. randee 03/05/2014 at 10:06 am #

    It’s nice to hear you appreciate all those little (strike out, big) things. I’ll have to google Washi tape. Happy belated birthday!

    • Sincerely Kate 03/05/2014 at 10:22 am #

      Thanks, Randee! Washi tape is a nifty little thing. It’s a roll of decorative tape (that comes in all sorts of different colors and patterns) that can be used to decorate a bunch of things. For the most part I have just given postcards and envelopes some pizzazz, but I’m hoping to move on to some bigger projects 😀

      • randee 03/05/2014 at 12:41 pm #

        Good idea on th envelopes. Envelopes can be really boring. 🙂

  7. cupitonians 03/05/2014 at 11:48 pm #

    Happy Birthday! 27 is the greatest number of all time (I might be biased because I’m there myself, but I’ve always been fond of the number). Glad you got to celebrate it in time!

    • cupitonians 03/05/2014 at 11:48 pm #

      Ugh, meant “in style”. Damn Freudian slips!

      • Sincerely Kate 03/06/2014 at 5:09 am #

        Haha. I think “in time” works, too. Sure, it might not be as good as “in style” but I appreciate the sentiment regardless 😀

  8. bearspawprint 03/06/2014 at 12:44 am #

    Belated:
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY
    HAPPY BIRTHDAT TO YOU
    …….. AND MANY MOOOOORE
    🙂 🙂
    THE WILD http://bearspawprint.wordpress.com/2014/03/06/the-wild/

Leave a Reply

