A Month of Letters and Stuff

24 Feb

LetterMo2014squareOn January 31st, Save the U.S. Postal Service by Writing More Letters posted something in an attempt to help a kindergarten teacher in North Dakota get 100 postcards by the time her class was celebrating 100th Day this month. When I looked into it, I saw the badge you see on the left displayed on that teacher’s blog and just had to investigate. Long story short, a postcard to that teacher was the first of my outgoing mail this month. February may not be over yet, but I wanted to use the last Miscellaneous Monday this month to document everything I’ve sent (as I sent it) so far as well as some other things I find noteworthy.

February 1st, 2014: In addition to the Michigan postcard for the kids in North Dakota, I also put something in my box for my mail carrier as instructed by one of my Boom Boom Cards.

February 3rd, 2014: In addition to sending a letter to my pen pal Jody, I also sent Netflix their Babe movie backI watched that movie quite a bit as a kid, and I thought because of the farm animals Logan might like it, but he wasn’t impressed and honestly neither was I anymore.

February 4th, 2014: I haven’t heard from my pen pal Kimberly since November, so I decided to drop her a line and I enclosed a Valentine as well as a couple other things with it.

February 5th, 2014: I sent all 11 postcards Postcrossing would let me send on this day. To see them click me!

February 6th, 2014: My response to Kayla’s letter was sent out; it included her Valentine, one of the Chick Magnets I made,  and a Boom Boom card I used a couple days before.

February 7th, 2014: Jennifer, a new pen pal, was sent a response today.

February 8th, 2014: I sent another letter to Jody, and Nicole’s monthly postcard went out with it.

February 10th, 2014: Prior to me going to my dentist appointment, I put a letter and postcard out for Charlene. After the dentist, I sent a package to Kira in Finland.

February 11th, 2014: Erika’s response was sent out today, complete with yet another Chick Magnet 😛

February 12th, 2014: Charlene will be getting yet another postcard from me, I’m sending a letter on behalf of Girls Love Mail, and I’m also putting Netflix’s Burlesque movie back in the mail– I liked it bunches; I would never have guessed Christina Aguilera could act so well, but her performances were exactly what I imagined.

February 13th, 2014: Today was the day I sent a surprise postcard to Nerd in the Brain. I also sent a postcard via postcrossing and a homemade birthday card to Sophie in England.

February 14th, 2014: I became a member of The League of Extraordinary Pen Pals back on the 9th, and by this day I had two new postcard pen pals to send things to. I also got a letter complete with some goodies sent our for Simona in Italy, and I sent Jody a response, too.

February 15th, 2014: I sent out a postcard to another postcrosser from The Netherlands, as well as this Veronica Mars friendly one for Nicole:

"... You can dress it up with sequins and shoulder pads, but one way or another you're just going to end up alone at the spring dance strapped in uncomfortable underwear."

“… You can dress it up with sequins and shoulder pads, but one way or another you’re just going to end up alone at the spring dance strapped in uncomfortable underwear.”

February 17th, 2014: Nothing was sent out today. %@$#!% Presidents’ Day.

February 18th, 2014: Let’s see, after the long weekend I had a response sent out to Justine as well as an intro letter to a California girl named Jenn, I sent a postcard to a postcrosser from China, and I returned the first disc of the first season of Friends back to Netflix. Phew!

February 19th, 2014: I am going to be participating in a “March of Postcards” with the extraordinary Othella, and I figured before I sent her miscellaneous postcards all March long I’d send her a little sheet with a little bit about me so the entire project doesn’t turn into a glorified intro letter.

February 20th, 2014: I’m sending a response to Sarah/Michael and an intro to Kari, both LEP members.

February 21st, 2014: Jody’s letter went out today along with Netflix’s Doc McStuffins DVD. My brother Tom also turned 29 so happy birthday, big brother!

February 22nd, 2014: I sent a Route 66 friendly postcard to a postcrosser from Russia who’s into classic cars.

Oh, and today I’m sending out an intro letter to an LEP member named Sara, another disc of Friends, and a postcard I made for Simona as a thank you– she got me the Original Boom Boom Deck as an early birthday present! *Throws confetti*

I’d just like to add that I usually make a point of sending something out; I like having the red flag up (especially in the winter) so I don’t have to sneak outside unless I know the mail is here. I may not need a project like this to send letters and postcards, but I like being involved in something that encourages others to join me in doing so.

A Month of Letters has been a good experience for me, even though I haven’t done as good of a job documenting the stuff I sent on their website. Some people have sent hundreds of postcards and things and while that’s awesome for them, I never once thought of this process as some sort of competition nor should it be one. Will I participate again next year? Probably. Will I try to send even more stuff than I did this time around? Nope!

Ciao for now, Bleaders!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

One Response to “A Month of Letters and Stuff”

  1. Sincerely Kate 02/28/2014 at 4:13 pm #

    February 25th, 2014: I sent a letter to a fellow LEP member from Germany

    February 26th, 2014: I sent Missie a response to the letter I received on Monday

    February 27th, 2014: Justine was sent a letter, but Allison was sent a letter *and* some goodies 😛

    Februarty 28th, 2014: Jody has yet another letter on the way. I also sent a thank you card to Gabe’s grandparents since they gave me a card for my birthday. Oh! I returned another Netflix movie, too, not that that really counts.

Leave a Reply

