Cold Hands, Warm Heart

17 Feb

You want to know what I don’t like about reading this time of year? That even if you’re snuggled up in a Snuggie, your hands feel like ice. My cold hands aside, I have still liked reading this winter so I’ll be telling you about all the books I cuddled up with, but first I am going to accept the Sunshine Award in an attempt to make a few people feel warm and fuzzy.

sunshine-award-1

The rules are simple:
1) Nominate 10 other blogs who brighten up your reader/ notifications/ etc.
2) Write 11 facts about yourself

My Nominees:

  1. Nerd in the Brain
  2. Letters, Postcards and a Cup of Tea
  3. Enveloped Letters
  4. snails with mail
  5. Snailmail is Still in Fashion
  6. Hallvi’s Nest
  7. Serious thoughts taken not so seriously
  8. This Labyrinth I Roam
  9. kraftycatcreations
  10. The Vanilla Housewife

My Facts:

  1. Originally my goal for this winter was to read a lot of the free books I put on my Kindle.
  2. I just couldn’t get into The Dirty Parts of the Bible by Sam Torode. It didn’t seem like a bad book, it just wasn’t for me.
  3. Village Books by Craig McLay was an even bigger dud. This guy spends way too much time with a thesaurus… and dissing authors like Nicholas Sparks. Not cool, bro.
  4. I’ve had Payne & Misery on my Kindle carousel for a while now, but I just haven’t been motivated to read more than 1%.
  5. The new goal for winter was to get my library card and put it to use.
  6. The good news is I was able to find the rest of the Beautiful Creatures series. (I’m currently on the third book, Beautiful Chaos.)
  7. The bad news is I also found a book called Through the Zombie Glass and that was the biggest disappointment yet. I couldn’t read more than a chapter and I LOVE things related to Wonderland!
  8. If you’re an author who says things like “Always he threw off enough testosterone to draw the notice of every girl within a ten-mile radius” I am going to be put off. Why the weird word order?
  9. I lost my “Oh Gnome You Didn’t” bookmark a couple weeks back and my mom was nice enough to get me a new one.
  10. I may not have read many free books on my Kindle, but as you’ll see shortly I read the few that I paid for.
  11. In case it’s not already obvious, I like making my “facts” for these awards follow a certain theme.

The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell– Chris Colfer. I’m a fan of shows and movies that put a modern spin on classic fairy-tales, and though The Wishing Spell wasn’t as good as Once Upon a Time or The 10th Kingdom, I still think Chris Colfer is as good of a writer as he is a performer. I do like the world he (re)created and how he made the Evil Queen someone you could feel sorry for, but I feel like when you’re dealing with characters that are so iconic you shouldn’t take too many liberties (e.g. Red Riding Hood being someone who reminded me of the Plastics from Mean Girls). Another downfall when dealing with something so familiar is that you can see things coming from far, far away (e.g. one of the twins’ allies being the long lost prince). These negatives aside, I not only want to read the sequel, I want to give the Brothers Grimm a whirl now.

The Book of Jane– Susan M. Krauss. Fairy-tales had to wait since my Advanced Writing teacher from high school wrote her own book, hehe. I read about Jane over the course of a few days, and I had to keep reminding myself that Mrs. Krauss didn’t experience (spoiler alert!) a cheating ex, the death of a child, or an attack– that’s just how well she wrote. There were a few things I could have lived without like the numerous amount of expressions regarding a hundred years or how commas were frequently used to separate excess information, like this, but those grievances aside I’m happy I read this and I’d be happy to recommend it. Wink wink, nudge nudge.

Places I Never Planned– Aimee Bontreger. When I first decided to tackle the free books in my Kindle, I started with the first book I added. It turns out Places I Never Planned is one of five short stories, and as I read them I couldn’t help but think they all showed promise yet ended abruptly. As soon as each of these stories had me on the hook I’d turn the hypothetical page only to find another story that would jilt me all over again. Despite quotes like the following one, you’ve been warned.

“Are you happy?”

“Can anyone really say that, completely? Even in times of happiness, life is hard. Or sad. Or rough. Life’s not meant to be summed up in a single word.”

Struck by Lightning– Chris Colfer. Although high school wasn’t a horrible experience for me, I often felt like I didn’t really belong there.  I was never invited to parties, was teased for how much I enjoyed writing, and was pretty sure only a few people would notice my absence. This feeling is why I could sympathize with Carson Phillips. He might have been a jerk who used blackmail to further his chances of getting into college, but I wanted this fellow outcast to get into that school, dang nabbit. Carson Phillips was hardly a hero; it’s one thing to excel as a writer but if everyone thinks you’re an asshole, who is going to bother reading your journal when you’re dead?  “Struck by lightning” isn’t only a metaphor Carson uses in this book, but something meant to be poetic in a way that I only found depressing. I’m glad I read the book, but I would have preferred a different ending. I watched the movie and though it could have been better, I did like how that the dad’s fiance had a larger role and, more than anything, that it didn’t wait until the end for the big bang.

Beautiful Darkness– Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl. My friend Nicole introduced me to Beautiful Creatures when she sent me the book last July. Though I liked reading about Ethan and Lena, those star-crossed lovers didn’t keep me interested enough to buy the rest of the series. Fortunately, my library carries the books. Once again, I liked reading about Ethan and most of the special people in his life, but I’m glad I didn’t spend money on it. To be honest, if it wasn’t for the due date I likely wouldn’t have read it so fast. I found myself so annoyed with Lena, I don’t think the John Breed character is remotely interesting, and I thought Macon’s love interest was just ridiculous. I am liking Beautiful Chaos even less right now, but that’s a review for another blog post.

Hope you like the reading material I had for you today. If you think you know a book I’ll read from cover to cover in a week or so by all means tell me about it 🙂

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

6 Responses to “Cold Hands, Warm Heart”

  1. The Vanilla Housewife 02/17/2014 at 7:49 am #

    The Book of Jane sounds very interesting! Will look it up!
    Thank you for the nominations! Appreciate it a lot! 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 02/17/2014 at 8:45 am #

      You’re very welcome! I’m glad I could hook you up with a book recommendation, too 🙂

  2. nerdinthebrain 02/17/2014 at 8:49 am #

    Thanks again for the nomination! 😀 How cool to read a book by one of your teachers…I’m going to have to check that one out. 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 02/17/2014 at 8:55 am #

      It was such a good book, and I’m not saying that to get extra credit or anything as I graduated almost 9 years ago 😛

  3. cupitonians 02/17/2014 at 11:05 pm #

    ❤ Thank you SO much, Kate! Big warm hugs!

Leave a Reply

