Happy Postcrossing

10 Feb

So I said two things of importance the last time I posted: 1) Kristiina over at Letters, Postcards and a Cup of Tea is not only a new pen pal of mine, but she has given me a few ideas for Sincerely Kate; 2) I’m going to document all of my outgoing postcards via postcrossing from early February, including why I picked each one.

This is that documentation and it was Kristiina who inspired the idea 😀

On most postcrossers’ pages, he or she will request certain postcards they’d like to see in their mailbox. In no way, shape, or form do you have to get them something they ask for if you’re given their address, but as you’ll see in (most) of my selections I tried to make an effort.

To mostovik in Russia:

7

This postcrosser introduced himself and then immediately started talking about how his biggest interest is bridges. I have several blank postcards with some sort of bridge on them, but because I’m a Michigainder, I thought this guy would really appreciate seeing the bridge that connects Michigan’s upper peninsula to its lower one. Plus it’s such a great picture of it.

To Onion98 in Germany:

8

Although this user said she’d be content seeing a view from where I live, I not only saw her say she’s interested in flowers of all kinds, but noticed her display picture is of flowers, too. I found several postcards with flowers in my stash and picked out the one I knew I’d rather get.

To DinoWrath here in the US:

9

Once I saw this postcrosser’s name, I thought about the Where’s Waldo card in my possession. Reading DinoWrath’s profile only made me want to give this postcard to her more because not only did she say “send me a puzzle” she just came across as being up for anything.

To yanamoroz in Belarus:

11

Two things stuck out as I read this user’s profile: 1) They’re a fan of Star Wars; 2) They like things that are weird but don’t make a lot of sense. I think this postcard fits the bill here.

To leenaj in Finland:

12

This postcard fits a few things on this user’s wishlist. Not only is it art (by André Derain), it’s colorful and of a landscape. This postcard belonged to my late grandmother so I’m glad to have sent it along to someone who’s likely to really appreciate it.

To Emma_Chen in Taiwan:

13

This girl had a wishlist of 20+ things, but I barely had anything from it! I have no idea who Marie-Anne Foucar or Inge Look are so hopefully other people will be able to help her out with those. Fortunately, buried under all the artists (at least I’m assuming they’re artists) was listed “Temple, Museum, & Church” so I found a card from my Hida Takayama set, also inherited from my grandmother.

To Prakash1959 in India:

14

This postcrosser had nada on their profile– I don’t even know if this user is a boy or a girl. In situations like this I play it safe; I give them a postcard from Michigan, usually one I have duplicates of. Reese is actually my hometown and I think it’s hysterical that postcards for that little village exist 😛

To ednariley in Canada:

17

This postcrosser absolutely loves Elvis and I so wish I still had an Elvis postcard to send her, but she’s a music lover in general so I’m hoping she’ll still like this postcard of Nat King Cole and Ella Fitzgerald I have. 

To agagarin in Lithuania:

18

So! This user asked for “nude or erotic” postcards, and though I don’t have any of that stuff laying around here, I do have this Naughty Little People set reserved for such occasions. Part of me hates to part with them, but I think this guy will appreciate this. He did say he liked electronics, too, haha.

To an-148 in Belgium:

19

This postcrosser was very specific but in a very reasonable way. He wanted a local view, and he said he preferred cards without any additional pictures or artwork. I decided to send him the above postcard because it’s from a city not too far from here, and there’s so much detail it doesn’t need any of the things he prefers off anyway.

To ramsteentje from The Netherlands:

21

I like it when people on postcrossing say, ” Send me any postcard you like, doesn’t matter what’s on it. But to make it a little bit more easier for you, here some tips…” This postcrosser said two of her favorite things were famous art and owls. I know those birds aren’t owls and I have no idea if that watercolor’s remotely famous, but I’m thinking she’ll like this postcard anyway. At least I’m hoping she does!

And I hope you liked reading about the thought process I put into picking out cards! Happy postcrossing to all my fellow postcrossers 🙂

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

12 Responses to “Happy Postcrossing”

  1. Deborah 02/10/2014 at 7:54 am #

    I love all the postcards you sent and your rationale for doing so. I have a question. Do you ever hear back from these people regarding their reactions to the postcards? I am just curious if you ever find out if you’re as spot on as you appear to be with some of these. 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 02/10/2014 at 7:57 am #

      When people register the postcards they get, there’s an option to send the sender a message. Sometimes it’s just a basic “thanks for the postcard” or something among those lines, but other times they really let you know how welcome that postcard is to their collection.

  2. kristiinal 02/10/2014 at 10:14 am #

    Great to inspire someone<3 🙂 By the way your wonderful letter has arrived and I'll try my best to write you back as soon as possible 🙂 Though as I have German and need to write my thesis it might take a while 🙂

    Since you didn't know who Inge Löök is I though I should probably tell you something about her 🙂 She's a Finnish illustrator and focuses on Old Ladies illustrations that I don't really care for 🙂 But for some reason Postcrossers seem to adore those 🙂 Here are some examples 😀 http://www.flickr.com/photos/94884234@N07/sets/72157634328330660/
    But there are probably 20-30 different ones and there are one-two new ones yearly 🙂

    I also find it rather hard to try and fulfil the wishes including nude/erotic cards, especially now that the only "nude" ones are by Canadian illustrator Camilla d'Errico and those are just girls in those cards :S But I adore the card you managed to choose for the Lithuanian man 😀 It's probably the one I like the most out of all those you sent via Postcrossing :3

    • Sincerely Kate 02/10/2014 at 11:51 am #

      I am so happy to see you commented on this! I actually JUST sent the book I owe you a half hour ago so keep a look out for that! Take your time getting back to me; I know your letter will be worth the wait 🙂

      Thanks for letting me know about Inge! I think I may have to request gnome postcards now in addition to Wonderland-friendly stuff, haha! I’m glad you liked the “erotic” one– if you’re interested I can send you a postcard from that set, too 😛

      • kristiinal 02/11/2014 at 4:29 am #

        YAY! 🙂 At least my mailbox will get some mail in it now that I’m really slow and behind with letters 🙂 Wish I could write but whenever I would have time to write I’m either too tired to write anything or I’m somewhere and don’t have letters or papers with me, like now 😦 But what can you do 😦
        Hopefully I’ll manage to write some parts of my thesis and finish those this week so that I could take a weekend off and write letters while also watching the video feed of a Cosplay convention all my friends are going to 🙂 And maybe read a bit 🙂
        I also have the package and everything ready to send Juliet Immortal to you, I’d just need to stick the stickers to the bubblewrap envelope and take it to the Post Office. :/

        Would love to receive a card from that set! 🙂 Let me know if there are some Finnish cards you’d like to receive and I’ll do my best to look for those 🙂 Porvoo and Kouvola don’t have the best selection but Helsinki isn’t that far off and I can also send my friends who live in bigger cities to look for some cards :DD

      • Sincerely Kate 02/11/2014 at 8:01 am #

        I hope you’re able to take the weekend off, sounds like you could use a little time to yourself. Just so you know, if you ever want to start a letter for me but only have notebook paper with you, I wouldn’t mind you using that instead of stationery, even though I think the stationery you used before is awesome. Looking forward to getting that book, though I’m currently on the third book of the Beautiful Creatures series so I’m definitely not in a hurry!

        I’d rather have novelty postcards over destination ones, something random &/or colorful. Whatever you find though will be great 😀 I’ll have the “Naughty Little People” postcard in the mail for you this afternoon 🙂

  3. nerdinthebrain 02/11/2014 at 10:50 am #

    You’ve inspired me to get back into postcrossing! I just need to decide if I should start a new Nerd in the Brain account or pick back up with our old homeschool account. 🙂 I love, love, love the dino card. 😀

    • Sincerely Kate 02/11/2014 at 11:48 am #

      Hmm… that’s a tough one. I guess it’d depend on whether Grace is still interested. If she’s not, might as well make yourself your own account 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Postcrossing: Fun and Educational | Nerd in the Brain - 02/18/2014

    […] I read this post on the oh-so-fabulous Sincerely Kate […]

  2. A Month of Letters and Stuff | Sincerely Kate - 02/24/2014

    […] February 5th, 2014: I sent all 11 postcards Postcrossing would let me send on this day. To see them click me! […]

  3. Post Happy Postcrossing | Sincerely Kate - 04/10/2014

    […] postcards I was sending out via Postcrossing and my reasons for picking each card in a post called Happy Postcrossing. I thought I’d share the messages from each of the recipients this time around since it […]

  4. Happy Postcrossing: Round Two | Sincerely Kate - 05/30/2014

    […] I decided I’d send out all the postcards Postcrossing would let me in one fell swoop and share ‘em on here along with my reasons for picking each of them. And apparently it has been at least a month […]

Leave a Reply

