Sinful Indulgence

3 Feb

If you thought I was done with those Seven Deadly Sins here on Sincerely Kate, you thought wrong! The Music Themes have seem to have quieted down ever since Bear went into hibernation in the mountains, but my mom and I decided we’d still do one from time to time, even if it’s just once a month, and invite the other Themists (and anyone else who’s interested ūüėČ ) to join us! I suggested the Seven Deadly Sins for February, and now I suggest you sit and watch my contributions– one for each sin.

Envy

When I first wrote¬†about this sin¬†I said I was envious of Justine’s¬†ability to make quality envelopes¬†and K√§ra’s imagination when it comes to creating¬†all her Sims challenges. I know both of these pen pals would help me if I¬†asked, but like King Louie I’d like to just be¬†able to do these things myself.

I Wanna Be Like You- from The Jungle Book
“So give me the secret, man-cub. Clue me what to do.”

Gluttony

If this post¬†was¬†any indication, gluttony’s probably my deadliest sin. I’d rather die happy with a¬†full tummy¬†at 70 than live to be 90+ thanks to depriving myself from¬†all that is yummy. I may be¬†a picky eater, but I can¬†appreciate this video’s sentiment.

Eat It- Weird Al
“Don’t you know that other kids¬†are starving in Japan so eat it.”¬†

Greed

The first time I wrote¬†about greed I mucked it up¬†a bit. Someone commented “Is wanting something greed? I do want things but I don’t consider myself greedy because of it.” In hindsight, maybe my sinful behavior wasn’t¬†all that greedy, but I do still think people need to be more¬†appreciative of what they¬†already have– The Flying Lizards,¬†myself, and that commenter¬†included.

Money- The Flying Lizards
“The best things in life¬†are free, but you can give them to the birds¬†and bees.”

Lust

Like I said in this post, I don’t commit this sin too much between being in¬†a monogamous relationship¬†and having¬†a little one, but that doesn’t mean lust should be taken for granted– temptation is everywhere. I picked this song because of the lyrics, but I picked this version because of the things Jacob¬†and Lauren say¬†as the New Directions perform it (e.g. “Take it off!”/”Mr. Schue, let me be your Britney!”). Sue saying “It’s¬†a Britney Spears sex riot!” is¬†also hysterical.

Toxic- Glee Cast
“I took¬†a sip from my devil’s cup. Slowly, it’s taking over me.”

Pride

This previous post was a tough one to write since I had to swallow my pride to do so. I may talk things through with Gabe as well as vent to pen pals, but admitting things to my bleaders was huge for me. Want to know what else was huge? This song by Carly Simon.

You’re So Vain- Carly Simon
“You had one eye in the mirror¬†as you watched yourself gavotte.”

Sloth

I’m definitely guilty of being lazy, though,¬†as I explained before, sloth’s¬†a bit different¬†as it’s more¬†about being lethargic¬†and/or¬†apathetic. Either way,¬†we’d rather do what we want to do than what needs to be done, much like Sugarland in the following song.

All I Wanna Do- Sugarland
“Hang¬†a sign on the door, ‘please do not disturb.'”

Wrath

I may have¬†a temper¬†and get into moods, but I didn’t think I was guilty of wrath in December¬†and I don’t think I’m guilty of it now. Compared to Sweeney Todd I’m practically¬†a Disney princess, haha.

Epiphany- from Sweeney Todd
“Because the lives of the wicked should be made brief.”

Considering how I did a whole series about the Seven Deadly Sins before, you can imagine how much fun I had finding songs to fit each one. If you’re envious and not being sloth, you can get greedy and collect your own videos and indulge in a little gluttony along the way. Put pride in your work! Not that you’d catch anyone’s wrath… but whether someone lusts after you is out of my control, haha.

Dasvidania!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

12 Responses to “Sinful Indulgence”

  1. Deborah 02/03/2014 at 7:46 am #

    What fun! I don’t think I can top that. But then, I’ll try not to be envious of your great work! ūüôā

    • Sincerely Kate 02/03/2014 at 7:52 am #

      What a “mother” kind of thing to say. Yours will be good and you know it; the sins you’re addressing are the sins that address you the most.

      • Deborah 02/03/2014 at 7:58 am #

        You don’t have to tell everyone! ūüėČ

  2. Aussa Lorens 02/03/2014 at 10:59 pm #

    Mmmm I wish I had something on hand to commit the sin of gluttony right now…

    • Sincerely Kate 02/04/2014 at 5:47 am #

      I intend to have a brownie for breakfast. Care to join me? ūüėõ

      • Aussa Lorens 02/04/2014 at 11:51 am #

        Yes, as long as I can have the bowl of batter as well!

      • Sincerely Kate 02/04/2014 at 1:55 pm #

        You have yourself a deal as long as I get the utensils.

      • Aussa Lorens 02/04/2014 at 3:56 pm #

        Ooo, you strike a hard bargain. But I’m in, huzzah!

  3. 47whitebuffalo 02/08/2014 at 4:38 am #

    OH the Glee! LOL! That was great! Pulling the Fire Alarm–what a move! LOL.

    • Sincerely Kate 02/08/2014 at 7:19 am #

      Haha, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I must have watched it at least 10 times as I was putting this together; it doesn’t get old.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sinfully Musical: A Musical Theme based on the Seven Deadly Sins | Container Chronicles - 02/07/2014

    […] When my daughter suggested the seven deadly sins as a theme for our musical adventures, I thought it was interesting. And I knew that she would find a song for every one of the damn things–that’s just the way she is. Awesome, thorough, and a little compulsive. If you don’t believe me, check it out at Sincerely Kate. […]

  2. MAYA ŗ§ģŗ§ĺŗ§Įŗ§ĺ ILLUSION ‚ÄĒ CRITICALLY CONFUSING CRYPTICS « bearspawprint - 02/20/2014

    […] https://sincerelykaterz.wordpress.com/2014/02/03/sinful-indulgence/ – However as the inertia was lost while some of us were AFTC (Away From The Computer) for […]

Leave a Reply

