From Taiwan and Back Part IV

30 Jan

*Throws confetti* We made it to the fourth and final part of this series, Bleaders! For those of you who have been following this in spite of me not ever going to Taiwan at any point, you’re awesome. If you’re just tuning in, you’re still awesome, but what you missed in Parts I, II, and III is me picking the winners in three categories from each of my mom’s writing classes at Ming Chuan University, and today is no exception. I read the essays from my mom’s Thursday class and chose the following three as its winners:

Most Informative

For this category, I chose Playing Volleyball and Swimming by May. I neither swim nor play volleyball, but I do appreciate the effort she put into this paper about these favorite pastimes of hers. May seemed to really address what made these activities so important to her, a large paragraph dedicated to each, so though there were some mistakes throughout her paper, she still shined here.

Most Appealing

I found Dante’s paper about her perfect day so appealing; it was such a nice read. I like how she implies that days don’t have to be extravagant to be amazing– just listen to this description of hers: “Without the city lights, the stars can finally shine their own beauty out, and the moon will let her kindness and tenderness light up the world where we live. The black night is as dark as the ebony and as smooth as the silk. The whole scene of the sky is like the world’s most fabulous gown adorned by tons of diamond fragments, and a big, changeable white pearl is sewed on the fabric.” See? Appealing.

Best Utilization of English and Grammar

Maya definitely best utilized the English language in her paper, Independent Tour and Group Tour. She wrote rather well and I didn’t encounter too many mistakes, at least regarding her language skills 😉 . My biggest grievance is that in her introduction she says that group tours are a good method, but her paragraph regarding it only mentions the negatives. If she could put the bias aside a bit, I think this could become a really good essay.

Like I said in entries past, all of my mom’s students are doing really well considering English isn’t their first language. May, Dante, and Maya may have won this time around, but all of these students deserve some recognition. I can only imagine how much better their revisions are going to be.

Note: I am NOT grading these essays and my input has no influence on the students’ grades from my mother. This has just been an opportunity for these English students to have their work read and critiqued by some sort of outside audience, and for me to get to be a bit of a judge. I may not want to read essays regularly, but I have liked this particular experience. Hope you liked reading about these papers that came from Taiwan and back!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

5 Responses to “From Taiwan and Back Part IV”

  1. Deborah 01/30/2014 at 8:52 pm #

    Thanks, Kate! Your comments on these students’ writing will be so helpful to them and to the rest of their classmates. I appreciate your willingness to help motivate students to think about audience in their writing. I am impressed with the thoughtfulness and attention you put into this project. THANK YOU! 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 01/30/2014 at 9:13 pm #

      You’re welcome, Bessie. I definitely wouldn’t want to make a habit out of this sort of thing, but it wasn’t a bad experience by any means. Hope they enjoyed “writing for an audience” even if that audience was just little ol’ me.

  2. Dante Chiang 03/16/2014 at 5:42 am #

    hi this is Dante. I want to say thank you to you for picking me as the most appealing paper. I was all so surprised and honored by your appreciation and comment of my essay. I’ll try my best to keep writing and improve my writing skill. Thank you again (●’3`)ノ⌒♥

Leave a Reply

