From Taiwan and Back Part III

25 Jan

In case you missed the first two parts, you can find Part I here and Part II here. These posts have been an opportunity for me to judge the work of my mom’s writing students who have been learning English as a second language, acknowledging the three I think were best from each class in certain categories. This particular post is regarding her class from Wednesdays.

Most Informative

I picked Enzo’s paper as the most informative. I am assuming that long before she ever showed up for English Composition I she has been thinking about going to Greece. It sounds as though she has known she’d go swimming, that she’d look at the architecture, and that she’d even ride a donkey if she ever got the opportunity to go, so as soon as she was told to describe her perfect day, she just put those ideas down. I could be completely wrong here, but that’s how informative this paper was.

Most Appealing

For this category I chose Rex’s piece. I found it appealing because he seemed to really use his imagination to draw a picture. You could really see  him waking up, eating breakfast, going to the gym, and later playing the most exciting game of basketball. I could practically hear the buzzer and the crowds cheering, and I’m definitely cheering for Rex on the job well done here 😉

Best Utilization of English and Grammar

Elie’s paper, Travel to Paris, was one of the very first I read and honestly, afterwards it was hard for anyone to hold a candle to her in the utilization department. She may have been talking about mostly French things, but I could barely find a fault with her English apart from some excess commas. If she continues to study English, I’m confident she’s going to excel.

Although reading papers while taking a break from housework isn’t exactly my idea of a perfect day, I did enjoy sitting down to read these essays about perfect days with a cup of hot chocolate in one hand and a pen in the other. This specific batch of students may only be at level 1 (the other three classes are at level 2), but that doesn’t mean they haven’t been doing as good of a job when it comes to writing. Enzo, Rex, and Elie might have won here, but this entire class deserves some acknowledgement! Kudos, guys!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

2 Responses to “From Taiwan and Back Part III”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. From Taiwan and Back Part IV | Sincerely Kate - 01/30/2014

    […] you’re just tuning in, you’re still awesome, but what you missed in Parts I, II, and III is me picking the winners in three categories from each of my mom’s writing classes at Ming […]

  2. Audience and Purpose: Teaching ESL Students to Write | Container Chronicles - 02/18/2014

    […] Wednesday morning Writing I class: https://sincerelykaterz.wordpress.com/2014/01/25/from-taiwan-and-back-part-iii/ […]

Leave a Reply

