Miscellaneous Mondays

6 Jan

Last time on Sincerely Kate...

I will still be posting pen pal-friendly things on the same days I did last year (5TH, 10TH, etc.); these additional posts [Miscellaneous Mondays] are more for the “bandwagons” that pop up around WordPress like Daily Prompts, Challenges, and then the Music Themes I recently started participating in. I will likely start posting book reviews on these days one day in the near future, and I also plan to start accepting whatever awards I’m nominated for on them, too.

And now the continuation of Sincerely Kate

Back on Christmas, I participated in a Music Theme challenge. This may have been the first time I did a post all on my own, but I’ve actually been collaborating with my mom for the past few months on her challenges, earning me the handle Collaborator. Here’s a list of the blogs of hers I was involved with:

After Santa came and went I incorporated a few videos in my post from the 30th that fit that particular theme, and now it’s time to incorporate the new music theme, Dream, into this one. Remember, guys, you can find the other themists listed to the right side of this blog.

As a kid I had a pretty active imagination. I didn’t just have an imaginary friend, but I had an imaginary family (complete with two twin girls and a baby boy) and I owned and operated an imaginary restaurant, too. I may no longer imagine a pretend life for myself, but I do dream about the life I want my real family and I to have…

Better Life- Keith Urban
“There’s a place for you and me where we can dream as big as the sky.”

A lot has happened since I served imaginary people imaginary coffee. I went from dreaming about being a performer, to wanting to get into advertising, to pursuing a psychology degree, to being a stay-at-home mom who dreams about making her writing hobby into a career. There was probably more stuff mixed in there, but you get the idea.

Everyday I Write the Book- Elvis Costello
“When your dreamboat turns out to be a footnote.”

And then, of course, I have dreams for this blog (however trivial). For example, I dream of finding a song from Glee that works with each of these Music Themes, haha 😉

Dream On- Glee Cast
“The past is gone. It went by like dusk to dawn.”

And now here are three other songs about dreams that I adore, especially the first. The movie Get Over It is a retelling of A Midsummer’s Night Dream, by the way!

Dream of Me- from Get Over It
“And sleep per chance to dream, so I can see the face I long to touch, to kiss.”

I Dream- Billie Piper
“When I close my eyes you are by my side, and I can picture us together.”

Once Upon a Dream- from Sleeping Beauty
“You’ll love me at once the way you did once upon a dream.”

I loved Sleeping Beauty as a kid and even as a teen, but it’s just now dawning on me that it was ironic for her, of all people, to be singing about dreams, haha.

And I find it fitting that Dream was the theme for my very first Miscellaneous Monday. Less than two months ago MMs were just a mere idea since my original blog rotation was so obsessive, but the compulsive part of me made that little nugget of a dream into a reality. On that note, I shall leave you dreamers with one last video…

Carpe Diem- from Phineas & Ferb
“Cause every day’s a brand new day, you gotta carpe diem!”

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

8 Responses to “Miscellaneous Mondays”

  1. Deborah 01/06/2014 at 7:15 am #

    Wow! I think maybe your mother has been holding you back! I thoroughly enjoyed this post, and your selections were great — especially the first and last. So glad you jumped in. Yay for MMs!

  2. 47whitebuffalo 01/06/2014 at 2:25 pm #

    Hi Kate. I’m enjoying your entirely different than moi’s take on the Dream Music Theme–so different that it’s highly unlikely I’d ever select something from Sleeping Beauty. 🙂 But that’s a good thing. I got a real kick out of the Elvis Costello video with the prince and princess watching old romance adventures on the small screen. Keith Urban plays a mean banjo–and guitar. He’s easy on the eyes too. LOL.
    So you intend to search for the Glee theme fit–good to know you’re staking out your territory like Johnny has R.E.M. covered. I’m not a faithful follower of Glee but I do enjoy it from time to time–along with SMASH.
    Hmm, does this mean Deborah is going to have to pry collaborative support out of you in the future? I guess you’ve probably got more than enough music memory to share the load.
    Carpe Diem indeed. LOL
    Oh now I have a better understanding of your comment about The Kills’ cover of the Fleetwood Mac Dreams song. Definitely on the darker side of the dream theme.
    Thanks for the show!

    • Sincerely Kate 01/06/2014 at 3:38 pm #

      I’m glad you liked my end of the dream spectrum. I had a pretty good idea of what I wanted to use before this theme was ever announced, so helping mother out wasn’t an issue for me and I doubt it will be in the future.

      I have yet to see any of SMASH but hopefully with the help of Netflix I can change that soon.

      • 47whitebuffalo 01/06/2014 at 7:42 pm #

        SMASH has some great musical numbers in it–that’s the real draw for me. Hope you enjoy it.

  3. Sincerely Kate 01/10/2014 at 4:50 pm #

    Haha, yeah! My takes on the themes will *usually* show up on Mondays 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dreaming Dreamer Dreams ~ Music Theme Dream 5 January 2014 | 47whitebuffalo's Blog - 01/06/2014

    […] Kate https://sincerelykaterz.wordpress.com/2014/01/06/miscellaneous-mondays/ […]

  2. Contrast ~ Music Theme ~ 10 January 2014 | 47whitebuffalo's Blog - 01/10/2014

    […] Kate will post her Music Theme on Monday. Or so I assume based on her last post :).  https://sincerelykaterz.wordpress.com/2014/01/06/miscellaneous-mondays/ […]

  3. Miscellaneous M’s: AtoZAprilChallenge | Container Chronicles - 04/15/2014

    […] MONDAYS: Early this year, my daughter, Kate, started a new feature on her blog, Sincerely Kate. You can check out that feature as well as many of her other compulsive ideas brought to […]

Leave a Reply

